The Light Of My World…


The Light Of My World…

 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

This morning in the dark I saw a shadow

 

Of our home underneath the night light

 

I stood there and watched it… begin to disappear

 

As the sky grew brighter

 

I saw the light touch the shadow

 

Little by little … to make it go away

 

I stood there silently

 

Tilted my head to the side

 

I was awed to see a shadow turn into light

 

The shadow was gone, there no more

 

My eyes searched for any traces

 

The light was there in its place

 

When I’m sad, worried

 

I notice that I do things like this

 

I notice things I usually don’t

 

My eyes will find things I don’t really think about

 

To focus on, to make ‘me’ stay here

 

Watching as I think about what to do next

 

That shadow has gone away

 

The light, the light is the key

 

It chases shadows away whenever I’m in the dark

 

I know darkness well

 

My life has been touched many times

 

By darkness that tried to trap me on that road

 

So, that I’d never come back to the light

 

Add all my energy to make it darker, take my soul

 

But… it never counted on Skip, our Pups being there

 

As a beacon (thank you, Colleen), as a beacon shining

 

On that road, guiding me toward the light

 

Lighting that path up so, I could see

 

Chasing those shadows away, making my path clear

 

I came out of that darkness in time

 

I looked for the light, followed it

 

To make it here in today

 

I still see shadows such as the one I watched this morning

 

The light chased it away, I watched it go

 

It made me think of my light

 

Skip and our Pups who light up my world

 

Who chase shadows away, make me feel safe, not afraid

 

Go away shadows, go away

 

Please don’t come back to make me afraid

 

If you do… the light of my world… will chase you away

Note:  I thought of two of my blogging friends as I wrote this… I associate ‘beacon’ with Colleen who told me that Skip and the Pups are my beacon.  I thought of Subhan who writes about the light.  I’m honored to have them as my friends.  :)))

4 thoughts on “The Light Of My World…

Leave a Reply

