Twenty-Eight Inches Of Snow… Fall! That Fly!


Twenty-Eight Inches of Snow … Fall!

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

I looked toward the chimney of the little wooden house

The wind was blowing the smoke close to the ground

Meaning… I hope … that snow would soon be on its way

Tiny birds flocked to the ground, looking for tidbits of food

Another sign that … hopefully … the snow would be here

I’ve been waiting to see this snowfall coming our way

I wish it would get here, I’m so excited… it’s going to snow!

It’s going to snow, it might snow twenty-eight inches

I heard the weatherman say… twenty-eight inches of snow today!

I could see the little wooden house as I stood on my back porch

The scent of wood burning in the air, I closed my eyes to smell it

How beautiful that scent is… in my mind I conjure up a burning fireplace

People sitting by the fire, some standing to warm their backsides

Others warming, rubbing their hands together around the cosy fire

Excited as I am… we have snow on the way … twenty-eight inches!

I just saw my first snowflake, one the many snowflakes to come!

The snow’s coming, the snow’s coming…one snowflake at a time

No.. I see hundreds more snowflakes falling through the air

Like little ballerinas dancing …. twirling, flying through the air

I run to make a cup of hot chocolate, get warm.. cosy

Sit by my window to watch … twenty-eight inches of snow …fall!

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

That Fly!

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

It sat there looking at me

I wondered how it survived

The freezing temperatures outside

The day was warmer

I opened the doors, windows

To let the fresh air in

It moved here, there inside

My pup caught sight of it

Began to chase it

He jumped into the air

Came down on all fours

With that fly in his mouth!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Twenty-Eight Inches Of Snow… Fall! That Fly!

  1. We had freezing temperatures, but the two spiders outside my windows are still kicking even if there is no food for them! 🙂

    I love snow and the whiteness, but have trouble walking in it! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

