He Does Understand… We Are Going To Have Our Differences


English: A basket of garlic (allium sativum) o...

English: A basket of garlic (allium sativum) offered for sale at the farmers’ market in Rochester, Minnesota (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

He Does Understand… We Are Going To Have Our Differences
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

I tried something I’ve never tried in my life. Today, I felt well enough to go to the supermarket. In fact, in the past couple of days I’ve tried food I’ve never eaten before in my life.

 

I was buying bags of frozen vegetables to put in the freezer. I bought several bags of something I’d never eaten before. I will surely buy more now.

 

I tried Edamame, a variety of soy beans… I bought the steamable frozen pods with sea salt. I put them in the microwave for about 4-5 minutes, took them out, let them cool a bit.

 

I began taking the peas from the pod to eat. Oh my, what a tasty snack! I love the taste, I don’t know how to describe it, I’ve never tasted anything like them before. I read that they have a lot of good protein, and people eat them for a snack when dieting.

 

Tonight, I did something I’d never done in my life. I bought two bulbs of garlic at the supermarket. They always look so fresh, pretty in their little packages. I felt I wanted a box of them.

 

Tonight, I held each bulb in my hand, sliced off the ‘top’… then took the ‘paper’ skin off. I put each of the two garlic bulbs into a piece of tin foil… drizzled olive oil on them, sprinkled a little salt, pepper over them. (Note: I need to get Kosher salt :)))

 

I baked them in the oven at 400 degrees, then… took the cloves from each bulb… pressed each clove with a fork to get the creamy, roasted garlic out. (Note: I need to buy a garlic press :)))

 

I spread the creamy garlic on a piece of toast, drizzled a tiny bit more of olive oil on it, sprinkled a tiny amount of salt, pepper over it. I began to eat it… I really loved it! This would be wonderful with spaghetti! (I know… you all already probably been eating garlic like this … I never buy garlic, Skip doesn’t like it. Sometimes, I do use garlic salt on a steak :)))

 

Now… how to get the garlic scent gone! I’m sure I will have garlic breath tomorrow! Does anyone know how to make the garlic smell go away?

 

I saw how to prepare the garlic on a video, it looked so good… I had to try it. I love things I haven’t ever tried before. If anyone has any good tips about the Edamame pods, or garlic…. let me know!

 

I know that Edamame peas can be made into ‘hummus‘ … instead of using chickpeas, one can make hummus with Edamame peas, using cilantro, and such. I love hummus.

 

Skip doesn’t like ‘everything’ I like… especially garlic!!! But, he understands that we ‘are going to have our differences’! :)))

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “He Does Understand… We Are Going To Have Our Differences

  1. I don’t know of anything that removes the smell of garlic (eat enough and it comes out of your pores! -Pheeeeww!!! LoL!!!), but I love the stuff and enjoy cooking with it! 😛

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

