Thoughts and Things, Happy… Sad… Equals Bittersweet


Beginning of my Straw Bale Garden… 4-13-2013

Chadwick and Kissy ‘fighting… happy Pups!

Skip raking grass out of Pup’s fenced-in yard…

 

Thoughts and Things,  Happy… Sad… Equals Bittersweet

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

This morning we were at a local store to pick up bacon, egg sandwiches at their grill.  Oh my… they were very good… much better than at a fast food restaurant.

 

We went shopping, came home… and saw our yard!  It had been mowed… it looked so nice!  Skip had just talked to someone about mowing it… this is the first time this year it’s been mowed.  Now… it feels like summer!

 

Skip bought straw bales for me… and arranged them.  Now, my project begins soon… and I look forward.  I am going to have a straw bale garden!  Skip will buy more straw bales as time goes by, and I get them planted.

 

I look forward to planting the easy way without having to dig, and lift, move things.  All I have to do is to part the straw, put in potting soil, seeds or plants… and stand with the water hose to water them… watch all grow!

 

On the internet… I have seen many beautiful straw bale gardens of all shapes, sizes.  Of course, mine won’t be on the scale their gardens are…

 

I will take photos as I go, share them with you.  I only took one photo this evening after Skip arranged my straw bales.  We put a portable fence around them…. there are many deer around here… they might would want a snack later when things are growing!

 

It felt like summer-time today… I was thinking summer is going to sneak in here fast, we might not get a real … spring.  It has been a little ‘too hot’ the past several days.  :)))

 

I’m looking forward to when Skip gets the sand, and gets the swimming pool put up (it’s just an above ground pool that one throws up… it’s 15’x 4′).  It will be wonderful to exercise, play in it each day.

 

These are things thought of, done … today.  I thought of Tommy today, too.  Happy… sad… happy… sad… equals bittersweet.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Thoughts and Things, Happy… Sad… Equals Bittersweet

  1. This reminds me of that saying that a good day (I can’t remember the ful quote) has tears, laughter, thoughts, and your day did sound very good. I love the straw bale garden!!! How easy is that!!!!

    • Len, this ‘is the garden’ that you don’t have to do heavy stuff, or something to hurt your body. All you have to do is take your hands, open a place in the straw… put a little potting soil in the hole… put your plant in… water…. just keep watered! :)))

  2. Like Len I haven’t heard of a straw bale garden! 🙂

    The weather is warming up here, but we’re getting rain with it.

    The trees have still yet to bud because of the unusually cold weather, so the birds are reliant on people who leave out food for them! 😦

    This is going to be a hard year for wildlife…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Prenin, I just told Len how simple it is to plant in a straw bale… one can grow some tomatoes, and whatever … flowers, anything in it… just open a place in the straw bale, put a little potting soil in, put your plants or seed in it… keep watered.

      I wanted to tell you that I went to mail the book to you… Prenin! I see what you meant about being expensive! Oh my, I didn’t know postage had went so high to mail overseas. I didn’t mail it. I wonder if I sent you a stamped envelope… would you write something on paper so, I can put it in my book? I would treasure that. Love, Gloria :))) We just got leaves this past week! Wonderful!

      • Yeah the price is horrendous!!! 😦

        Just send a Self Addressed Envelope and I’ll write something for you.

        The price of mail these days is truly horrifying!!! 😦

        I have to pay £8 per fortnight to write to my pen friends in America and Russia, so I am having to think seriously about continuing to write to them if the price goes up again…

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

      • Prenin, that’s what I will do, and when I mail it to you… I am going to purchase the postage to go on the envelpe…. all you’ll have to do is drop it in the mail whenever you get back to where you mail your letters. It doesn’t matter how long it takes. I can’t believe how much postage has changed in 3 years… I used to mail things to my friend in Sweden… and she died soon after Tommy died… I lost track of how much things have changed in price…. amazing!!! Love, Gloria :)))

Leave a Reply

