The Dragonfly Tattoo That Wasn’t Meant To Be…


 

This is the dragonfly picture that ‘found me’… I wrote about it.  It hangs in my bathroom.

 

The Dragonfly Tattoo That Wasn’t Meant To Be…

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

Well… today will be the day I go to get my … dragonfly tattoo.  The only way I won’t get it will be because I can’t get there… the shop closes unexpectedly… or the shop/tools aren’t what I expect it to be; or ‘something like that’.  :)))

 

Two weeks ago … we talked to Jason, the tattoo artist.  He is just opening a new shop.  He said he wanted his shop to be ‘high-end’… and told us about it.

 

My tattoo won’t look like the one above… I want something more delicate… soft ‘happy-colored’.  If I can’t see ‘just the right picture’… that will be another reason ‘why’ I wouldn’t get it today.  Jason suggested I draw/design my own dragonfly… it isn’t something I ‘felt inside’ I should do…. so, I haven’t.  I don’t draw a lot lately… anyway.

 

I want to mention a ‘strange’ thing that’s been happening since we first talked to Jason, the tattoo artist.  My right shoulder has begun itching… it never itched before… but, has ever since.

 

I’ve been careful not to scratch, or break the skin… so, I rub it.  It’s strange… ‘why has it been itching since I’m close to having my tattoo done’?

 

I want the delicate little dragonfly that I keep imagining …. to be placed on my right shoulder.  I want it to look like it ‘just stopped there for a moment’.

 

Then… underneath it will be….. ‘In Memory Of My Son, Tommy’.  A delicate, little ‘happy-colored’ dragonfly in memory of my only child who died May 29, 2010….

 

 

NOTE:

 

 

We went to the tattoo shop … to get the tattoo.  The guy named Jason took people in front of me; put a stack of new books in my hands, told me to pick out a dragonfly.

Skip and I felt bad, when he did that to me.  It was like he’d forgotten I was there; we had already talked to him a week before.

 

I stood there with the books… as I looked, I ‘knew’ I could never let him put the special tattoo of the dragonfly on me.  Hard feelings… I felt hard feelings toward him.

 

It was wrong of him to take the two women who arrived after I did… we sat 30 minutes waiting for his shop to open.  The reason he did that was because one of the women was about his age, cute.  I could hear them talking as I stood there with the books; he was just broken up with someone…. that said it all.  They were flirting with each other, laughing and talking.

 

I walked over, handed him the books, told him I was leaving.  He asked did I want a consultation…. I looked at him, told him I didn’t want him to do the tattoo.  We left.  He had forgotten we already talked to him.

 

I left thinking about all the new books of tattoos; I didn’t see a book of tattoos he’d done… I had looked forward to seeing his work.  If he does other people like he did me… his business will fail before it starts.  We liked him… now, we are very disappointed in him.

 

19 thoughts on “The Dragonfly Tattoo That Wasn’t Meant To Be…

  1. I know a guy who had rabbits tattooed on his chest because, from a distance, they looked like hares… 😉

    I was often told to get a tattoo, but I prefer to be unique!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

    • :))) I’m glad he did do like he did… I kept looking around to see some of his work being displayed… I know when I do something nice, I’m proud of it… I never saw anything he’d done. I’ll take my time… I don’t want a ‘mess’… I hope you are doing well! :)))

      • Good thinking hun! 🙂

        Yes, I’m doing fine.

        The last time Doug visited he was probing to see if I was plotting some act of revenge.

        Like I’d tell him – he’s the local gangsters eyes and ears… 😦

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

      • Hi hun! 🙂

        Yes, I’m being careful – Doug has suddenly got himself the money to buy a PC after over a year of begging me for money for drink.

        I don’t believe in coincidence any more… 😦

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

      • Prenin, I understand. I think one never really knows anyone … I have been so surprised… even shocked when I’ve ‘seen and known’ the real person behind their … so familiar, sweet ‘mask’. :)))

  2. Haha! Don’t you SEE, Gloria? That was the fated intervention you didn’t see coming. The itching was a sign, and it did get your attention…but it didn’t quite get through…so the next sign to get your complete attention was the ‘incident’ at the tattoo place! Take it to heart. Whether it’s a tattoo or something of a completely different aspect that you find inspiration in, it was obvious (to me, lol) that now wasn’t the right time for it to come to you. It will come to you, be assured of that. It just wasn’t time quite at that moment for quite that thing.
    Call me crazy. With that, I am taking my crazy-ass self out of here for now, but with confidence in knowing there is a kernel of wisdom in my reply to you about this thing.But, I will be back! 😉

    • Oh, CJ!!! You are so funny! You made me laugh… I love having you for my friend! You have a funny way to say things… I have one more friend who has that funny, wonderful way to say things… the both of you are so ‘real’… and are yourselves. I sort of felt… something… but, I wanted my tattoo so much. CJ… you are just… something else! :)))

  3. Glad that you acted like you did … because if he couldn’t remember that he already been talking to you … about the tattoo and the reason behind it.
    It has to be more than a great job … there has to be connection and care too.

    • You are so right… there will have to be a rapport, connection with the person who does that special tattoo…. If I don’t find the right tattoo artist… that’s okay, too. It’s nice to hear from you… :)))

Leave a Reply

