I’m Sorry I Drove By Today… And Couldn’t Help


I’m Just Sorry I Drove By Today… And Couldn’t Help

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

I looked to the left where I could see many things… something told me that it would be interesting to look at … when I got closer.

 

Sure enough, it was. I could see many things… my eyes tried to make sense of what I was seeing.

 

I could see the tall back of chairs sticking up from all the ‘jumble’ I was seeing. Piles of clothing were on the seats, on various pieces of furniture. What in the world am I seeing?

 

A cheap looking dining table sat close by. A coffee table had been put on the seat of the couch. So much ‘stuff’ that my eyes didn’t have time to identify as I drove by. I did see some signs nailed up on the posts of the porch… two to be exact. I saw the words on one poster…. ‘No Trespassing’.

 

It dawned on me… what I’m seeing is an… eviction. Some poor family has been evicted from their home. Someone had gone into their house… went through their things… and took all … outside.

 

I know their things probably weren’t handled gently at all. Why? Because … probably the people who took their things outside… thought they were ‘trash’ now. They may have thought ‘the poor bas____’ have been thrown out onto the street, now.

 

They probably got what was coming to them. We all know that if you can’t pay your rent, your bills… you are going to be kicked out… not only that your utilities are going to shut off.

 

I drove by with a sadness in my heart. I thought about the family who would be coming home this evening. My heart went out to them. Not only would they find all their belongings on the front lawn… they would be humiliated in front of the neighbors, and people they knew.

 

How sad is that? What will they do, I wondered? Where will they go? Who will care about them… help them?

 

I drove up the street, deep in thought. The scene touched my heart. Suppose children came home there… got off a school bus? Can you imagine the ridicule, taunts the other kids would throw at them? It’s embarassing enough to be an adult to… come home to such.

 

Would someone break down, cry… fall to their knees? Scream to heaven, “oh God, why is this happening to me! What am I going to do?” Would people slow down, gawk? Would anyone stop, care to help?

 

What about people like… me? I drove by… what could I do? We are doing the best we can to live each day, pay our rent… pay our bills.

 

We are taking care of Camie, the little puppy I rescued… if it weren’t for the donations people call in to her vet…. or donate to her GoFundMe account… it’d be mighty hard to pay for all that… and she isn’t well, yet.

 

I slowed down, turned into the driveway. I looked toward the fenced-in yard… three Pups stood there, waiting to greet me. Two Pups’ long tails were wagging… I had to look closely to see the third Pup’s tail wag… it was a little nub… and it was ‘wagging a mile a minute’.

 

Thank-you, God… for my Pups, and Skip. I’m so thankful to have a place to go… called ‘home’.

 

Tonight, all is quiet in my world. My thoughts turn back to the scene I saw earlier today. My heart is sad… I worry for the people who were kicked out of their home today. So many of us… today… are ‘that close’ to being … ‘out on the street’.

 

Will they be homeless tonight? Will they have to sleep on the ground? Will they pull their old mattress out from the pile of ‘stuff’ in the yard… spread their worn sheets, blankets out on it? What do they … do now?

 

My prayers tonight are for the family who was evicted today… or was it a family? Maybe it was someone like Skip and I, and our Pups. Maybe it was an old man… or an old woman.

 

I wish I could have helped you… if I had the means, I would have. You would have a place to call home tomorrow, not only that… your rent would have been paid up until the spring time… groceries to last through out the winter months. I would make sure your utilities were taken care of, also.

 

If you needed a car, I would make sure you had one. It might not be a new one… but, it would be a nice one, easy on gas. I would make sure you got five-hundred dollars weekly until the spring time. That would be my gift to you; no strings attached.

 

Now… I’ve come back to reality. I don’t have extra to help you. I have you in my thoughts, my prayers. I care. I’m just sorry I drove by today… and couldn’t help.

18 thoughts on “I’m Sorry I Drove By Today… And Couldn’t Help

  1. Homelessness … is a mayor problem all over the world and so sad – terrible, some people are forced to it and some people chose it – because they don’t want to be in the social system. Here in Sweden nobody has to be homeless, but still they chose to live homeless. Sad when kids escape from home and becomes homeless. I always buy their magazine and if I ever win enough with money a big amount will go to the homeless.

    • Here, I don’t think there’s a place for ‘all’ the homeless people to go to… I care for the homeless people… around where I live, we don’t see them.

      It’s when traveling, being in the big cities that I learned about them. I’ve cared very much. I’m like you about having ‘big’ money… I will go to do something, also… for at least some of them.

  2. I’ve helped people who were homeless and paid a terrible price, those around me accusing me of all sorts of crimes because I helped a vulnerable person.

    I no longer help because I can barely support myself, but it hurts to have to walk away.

    Love and hugs.

    Prenin.

    • Do you know, Prenin… I can truly understand how you feel… when you did ‘good’… someone ‘made bad out of it’… you do have to walk away.

      I know it hurts to walk away… in your situation… you have to, Prenin. Love, Gloria

  3. Homelessness has struck twice in my life once with my children we lived in a ten dollar a week room above a hardware store with no cooking facilities AND shared the only bath with five men that rented rooms there also, when I could no longer pay the ten dollars a week we lived in my old car the one when you pulled into a station you said fill the oil and check the gas. When we lost the car
    we slept on the streets. Now my daughter has lost her home due to cuts at the school system (she was in nutrition services as an admin to the supervisor) she lost the beautiful home she had for her son and herself now she lives in our basement, she is engaged but he is working outside of his field at a minimum wage job and she has injured her leg and can’t work right now. So we are all one social security check away from street living again. There are hundreds of stories like ours and worse out there in the real world but I too like you would help if I could and have the compassion and wish for the means to do so. Love and prayers

    • Len, you have been through so much in your life… your children, too. You know personally a lot of things… my prayers for you and your family is that all will begin to change in a positive way for you all.

      I know you are like me… if we could, we would help. Sadly sometimes… people who have the means… turn their eyes away… life it about only them, their comforts.

      When we used to have money… we always looked around to ‘see’… always picked someone to do good things for… we didn’t talk, or brag about ‘doing this, doing that’.

      We just went our own way afterwards, no strings attached. For different times in our life back over the years… we got ‘to be angels’ in a sense… oh, it was the most wonderful feeling in the world… to see such sadness… and be ‘a part of the answer to a prayer’… emotional.

      Now… we are only a little ways … from ‘being out on the streets’. I think so many are… the life we project is an … illusion. Underneath is… shaky ground … sort of like the ‘sink holes’ we are now seeing under ordinary ‘stable-looking’ ground.

      • Gloria I beleive as close as we all are to being one of those families, what we have gone through has made us stronger and God has watched over us or we would not be here. We give when we can be it a dollar we can’t spare really or our love and compassion even physical toil if necessary. I wouldn’t tell ever one this but I gave up my cemetary plot to my friend who lost her daughter earlier this month they had no means to have funeral and no plot to bury but as the church rallied for the services themselves I donated the plot …now she can go visit her daughter. It is not always how much we give or what we give as long as what we do is out of love.

      • Len, I understand perfectly… it seems the more I know you… I see your Heart is a lot like mine. In fact… I ‘see that’ in most all my online friends.

        That makes me think about what my Grandma Alma used to tell me… she said ‘birds of a feather… flock together’. I’ve seen how true it is over the years.

        I have the oddest friends… some look very different on the outside… some look normal… but… the one common thing we all have is ‘our Hearts’… I’m going to sit, see if I can put all this in words… I don’t know if I ever have or not. I may do that … today. :)))

        Len, you are a beautiful person. Through time… you’ll never know how your words stood out to me during my awful grief over losing Tommy… later when I began to read more… I saw you had also, lost your child.

        Yet.. you cared about a stranger back then… me. Did I ever say ‘thank-you’? If I didn’t, I thank-you from my Heart, for caring… when you didn’t have to, Len. Love, Gloria

      • Gloria, you have thanked me many times and I believe that our hearts and souls were meant to ‘meet’ so that we could be and we are a help to one another. Strangers physically we may be but our hearts have met and we have grown the better for it. Look forward to your post on heart, if you do it. God Bless my friend and keep you all (skip and the furbabies)

Leave a Reply

