I Tucked You In… Precious Camie


I Tucked You In… Precious Camie
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

She watched around her as she was led out of the door… through the chain-link gate.  She turned to look back… she didn’t want to leave.  No!  She wanted to stay home… she loved her home, and her family.

The door opened on the pickup truck… she was helped in.   Gentle hands touched, patted her head.  She sensed that no one wanted her to go anymore, than she wanted to go.

The door opened to the pickup truck… she got out.  By now, she knew the drill… she began to walk slowly up the brick drive, onto the slanted boardwalk.  They got to the wooden door… stood for several minutes talking while she waited.

They went through the door where they were greeted with cheerful voices.  She ran toward them… she recognized them!  She loved the people behind the voices.

Come on, Camie… let’s weigh you.  The nurse walked her onto the scale… Camie had lost 1 pound.

It was time for her to be left… she would have surgery sometime that morning.  Camie was going to be spayed… have her skin scrapings, bloodwork done.

We began to turn, walk out to the pickup truck.  Camie stopped, ran toward me.  My heart melted… I bent down to kiss her, tell her I’d be back to get her.  I turned, walked out the door… with tears in my eyes.

I loved Camie so much… I sneaked a peek at Skip… I saw what looked like tears… in his eyes.  He, as well as I, love our Pups… we want them home… we want all to be all right.

I waited for the phone call to come.  I expected it around lunch-time… I couldn’t wait to know how Camie did.  I was on pins and needles.  I got the call… Camie came through like a champ.  I was so happy.  Now, it was time to wait until the evening to go pick her up.

I drove to the Louisburg Veterinary Clinic to pick Camie up… she was due to be picked up at 4:30 pm.  I was much earlier… I was ready to get her.  I wouldn’t rest until I had her home!

I went in, talked with Dr. Fontenot, and his staff… Morgan and Pam.  I stood there, absorbing all I needed to know to give Camie all her medicines.  She had pain medicine; antibiotics, and she had Heartgard… and Certifect.  They were for heartworms, and for ticks, fleas.

Pam made Camie’s appointment to come back in 2 weeks.  I won’t bathe her until after her appointment.  Every week, I give Camie her very own ‘Camie Spa’… where I bathe her with her medicinal shampoo.  After the shampoo, I gently massage… dry her.  So, no more until after the next appointment.

Dr. Fontenot went over Camie’s bloodwork report.  Camie’s been bitten by a brown tick… her blood tested positive for Ehrlichia canis.  We’ll be talking about that soon.

Camie’s skin still hasn’t healed completely.  I worry … of course, I would.  I want her to be past all this, completely healed… no more medical problems.  I’m a little worried also, about her testing positive for Ehrlichia canis.  I want her to be well like our other two Pups, Kissy and Chadwick.  My mission is to make it happen.

I look to my left… there she lays.  I gave her pain medicine, it made her drowsy.  She got up on the couch, put her head on a pillow, went to sleep.  I got up, took her blanket… placed it over her to keep her comfortable, snuggly, warm.

I tucked you in… Precious Camie.

 

14 thoughts on “I Tucked You In… Precious Camie

    • She is, Prenin. Prenin, I was telling Skip that I dreamed he and I were in England, standing at a door for you to buzz us up! I heard something behind me… it was a bus… and you got off it, and I said, ‘you must be Prenin’! How about that dream! Skip said it was amazing. :))))

      • Weird! 🙂

        Last night I dreamed I was on a bus and I could pass between it and an alternate reality where the driver was asleep, hung on a hook, and the bus was driving itself! 🙂

        Maybe we have travel in our futures? 🙂

        Love and squishy hugs!

        Prenin.

      • Isn’t that amazing? I can’t wait to tell Skip that you dreamed ‘you were’ on a bus, ha!

        No, I don’t think traveling is in the future for me… I could never leave my Pups… nor let them travel in a plane… too many dangers. I wouldn’t have the money it takes, either. :)))

        Oh… I forgot… I’m afraid of flying… ‘now’! Another thing… I don’t want to go to sleep above… knowing there are ‘sharks down there’… underneath where I’m sleeping! :))) I don’t even keep my bedroom shoes under the bed! :)))

    • Yes, it takes ‘many of us’ doing different things to heal Camie. :))) She gets so much love that I hope it fills her little mind… so, she never remembers the nightmare she lived. :))) She knows she’s loved, protected by her Brother Pups, and Skip and I. :)))

  1. Pingback: Something Bad Could Have Happened… Sweet Chadwick Escaped | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a Reply

