Things Don’t Seem To Be As Scary As They Can Be… When There’s Light


 

 

Things Don’t Seem To Be As Scary As They Can Be… When There’s Light

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

Have you ever been afraid?  Wake up late at night… feel very afraid?  Maybe hear sounds from the past… it make you uneasy, afraid?

 

Tonight, I awoke to a sound, a shaking on the bed.  I thought it was Chadwick maybe scratching.  I saw his body moving.  I jumped up as I realized he was having a convulsion.  I was so frightened.

 

I ran to the wall to turn the light to turn the light on.  Then, I ran to the side of the bed he was… but, he slipped off onto the floor before I could get to him.  I was so upset because I saw his head at a strange angle.

 

I, hurriedly grabbed him up, speaking to him.  I held him up until he began to become aware of his surroundings.  He was disoriented, and I let him lay on the floor.  He could hold himself up, okay.

 

I ran to get a damp cloth… I wanted to wipe his face, thinking it would help him.  I came back to him, went to wipe his face.  He must have still been disoriented … he seemed afraid; he growled and I stopped.

 

I looked into his eyes… I could see he ‘wasn’t himself’.  I wonder why he had a convulsion… I know he didn’t get hold of anything to hurt him.  I felt fear… I feel sick now, as I write.  I wanted to wipe his mouth, his chest off.  He wouldn’t let me.

 

As if in apology, he walks to me now, for me to touch him, love him.  I do, as I look closely at him, to see if he’s alright.  I know sometimes, he’ll have a bad dream… I wonder if that’s what happened to him.

 

My prayer is that he’ll be okay, and not be sick.  I just want our Pups to healthy, well.  They are our family, our world.  They mean everything to us.

 

I just turned to look at him… he has finally laid down after walking through the pet door to go outside, come back in… several times.  I have the fan on to make the air circulate.  He seems to be enjoying it… be relaxed.

 

I feel better now, that I sat here to write my fear, worry.  I am calmer, inside… now.  I’ll be glad when the morning light comes… things don’t seem to be as scary as they can be… when there’s light.

 

Sounds from the past… when I was a little girl … for a short period of time… my beautiful mother had convulsions.  I can’t tell you what it did to me as a young child… I won’t try at this moment.  It would take too long.  I can tell you that I would be physically sick to my stomach, shake and tremble… I would be so afraid it would happen again… and see her face… her body.  The nightmares… the fear… it is too much for a little child.  The violent shaking, the sounds… I have to stop now.

 

She never did it again… but, for a year maybe… it would happen.  She never found out what caused it to happen.  I never forgot… the nightmares followed me for years… I would dream she was under my bed… and she was…………..  I couldn’t bear for my mama to hurt… to cry when I was a little girl.  I loved her with my very Heart.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Things Don’t Seem To Be As Scary As They Can Be… When There’s Light

  1. i hope your pup is doing better. they can bring such comfort and joy to us. i don’t want to imagine what my life would be like without my fur babies! even now as i am on the computer my big boy kitty is laying across my feet. i am not sure why but i have these events now where i wake up and have to take a moment to calm and remind myself where i am. sometimes i panic if my husband is not there. it doesn’t last long but just enough to shake me. it must be so scarry for your pup, he doesn’t have the ability to reason it out. it is so touching how much you love them. you have a big heart. wishing you peace of heart.

    • I read your words, and I felt so much more than they said. I care with my Heart. Chadwick is doing fine this morning. Thank-you for caring. I wish you peace of mind… I recognized the panic you spoke of, as I’ve been ‘there’. I just care so much.

  2. Chad is a Labrador? I have 2 Labs…the breed tends to be one for seizures…thank God we’ve never had ours down with them tho. Try to rest. He’s okay now Mama.

  3. CJ’s right: Labs do have convulsions occasionally.

    Rotties are prone to heart conditions, but there’s rarely a warning, they just go. 😦

    My friend Mark had a Rotty called Zulu who had a mischievous streak and he used to play tricks on me – One VERY smart dog! 🙂

    He didn’t have a voice, but he could get his needs across very well and I loved him to death! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

