Short Like Me…


Short Like Me…
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

d89c3-4-20-2013060

I was walking around in amazement… at Walmart, of all places. I looked all around me… I didn’t believe what I was seeing. To see a face… I didn’t have to ‘look far’… they were ‘all on my level’.

As I walked, I looked all around to see a ‘tall’ person. Ah… there’s Skip… he’s the tallest person I see. I can’t believe all ‘these short people’… ‘short people’… like me. I felt uncomfortable. How did everyone get to be so short. Was today a ‘short’ day? What’s going on?

No… I just couldn’t believe it. Their legs were no longer than mine. In fact, some legs were ‘shorter’…. How come I was uncomfortable with people ‘my height’? Why did ‘short’ affect me like that? I am ‘that short’. When I say short, I mean like 5 feet, 2 inches short.

Every aisle I turned down… everyone was the same height. Was someone playing a trick on me? How did they know I was coming to ‘that Walmart’? We don’t usually go to the same one everytime.

I just couldn’t take it… I’m short, but… I can’t be around a lot of short people at one time. I want to close my eyes… it make me dizzy. I like ‘different’… all sizes of people around me. It balances out ‘everything’.

Don’t ask me ‘why?’ It’s just the way it was. Everyone today was … short like me.

4 thoughts on “Short Like Me…

  1. Size is irrelevant – you are a shining star and bigger than you think!!! 🙂

    We have no place like Walmart although Walmart have bought Asda here in the UK which is mainly food based!!! 😛

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

