Someone Else’s Son…


 
Someone Else’s Son…

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

 

My Precious Son, Tommy… Born November 20, 1969… Died May 29, 2010

 

 

 

We walked toward the big box store

People were standing in a group to collect

Money to repair a church roof

My eyes were suddenly drawn to one person

 

Tommy!  Oh, Skip, look!

That guy looks so much like… Tommy!

My eyes followed the guy as he talked,

Moved, smiled… my heart began to hurt

 

I couldn’t take my eyes from him

So engrossed I was … I ran into a barrier

In front of the store

 

The pain in my stomach wasn’t anywhere as near

As the pain in my heart as I tried

To tear my eyes away from someone else’s son

 

Sick to my very soul, I followed Skip inside

Skip!  Did you see how much he looked like Tommy?

Did you see… he had glasses, his kind of haircut, too

 

Tommy, for a few moments I watched ‘you’ move

I watched you smile, talk

Today… in someone else’s son

 

 

Author’s Note:

 

Grief is a terrible thing… it strikes like a rattlesnake hidden in the grass.  No matter how beautiful the day, how wonderful all is… it strikes with a vengeance… the pain can bring one to their knees.

 

It can’t be predicted… no more than when lightening will strike something from the sky.  You can’t imagine how bad it hurts to lose your only child… how bad it feels, knowing you have nothing to look forward to in later life… no son, no grandchildren.

 

The only protection is being strong, determined… looking forward, not backwards.  I do this every day, minute… I have to.  It’s like walking a tightrope… I always have to be balanced, so… I … don’t fall. Sometimes, I fall very hard when… I least expect it.  I tell you because when it happens, I promised to.

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

7 thoughts on “Someone Else’s Son…

  1. Oh Gloria – how terrible! How beautifully you articulate your grief… “Grief is a terrible thing… it strikes like a rattlesnake hidden in the grass. No matter how beautiful the day, how wonderful all is… it strikes with a vengeance… the pain can bring one to their knees.” It is so true. I was struck down, one again, this week. I hope your week is better. Hugs

  2. Been there, done that! Almost hit a car in front of me when I turned my head while driving and saw a guy who looked just like my deceased husband. Your description was just like mine – couldn’t take my eyes off him, had to keep the right speed so that I could continue to stare, etc…grief sure took me for a ride – literally and figuratively! It is also a forever journey – good luck as you travel down the long road.

  3. Pingback: Tommy Would Have Been 43 Today… Death Of My Only Child, My Son | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a Reply

