Wanderlust…


Wanderlust…

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates … 6 years old

 

Lights flashing… red, blue… amber, green, yellow

Figures move in the shadows, doing what I don’t know

They bend down, stand up… move all around

 

What’s happened… what’s happened

I know now, there’s something I don’t want to know

I move a little closer, my nose to the windowpane

 

I don’t understand what I’m seeing

I turn to look at my mother who is asleep

I feel the bus come almost to a stop

 

I look down, see a man lying on the ground

I’m afraid when I see all the blood spread around

Spread around him, like a puddle of red paint

 

Oh, Mama, I’m afraid … please wake up

I turn around to see if she woke

She never woke up to see what her little girl saw

 

When riding on that big Grayhound Bus

Back in the day… back in the day when it was exciting

In the day… when it was fun to ride one

 

I was but, a little girl … yet, I heard a sound I loved

Big motor running, the smell of diesel fuel

It meant excitement, it meant going places new

 

This is when I found out I was like my Mama

Everyone always said she had to go, had to travel

This is when I found out that I had … wanderlust

 

3 thoughts on “Wanderlust…

Leave a Reply

