How Fortunate, Thankful… I Am


How Fortunate, Thankful… I Am

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee… 2014

 

I felt a burst of happiness in my heart

It felt as if it would soar like a pink balloon

In the sky so blue… the clouds fluffy, white

 

Birds singing, flying… flitting around

I sat watching… a little, soft smile on my lips

Thinking how fortunate, thankful I am

 

Life’s been hard… life’s been good

I know what it is to have… have not

No matter how bad something is, everything will be alright

 

Many paths I’ve walked on in life

I know what is it to be poor… to be rich

I know what it is to be cold… to be warm

 

One extreme to another in my life

I have lost everyone I’ve loved with my heart

They are all long gone now… ashes to ashes… dust to dust

 

There are a few left… I wish them all well

In this lifetime… we will never meet again

If by accident we meet, we’ll each go… our separate ways

 

I have my husband, and three Pups

They are my world… my very life

How fortunate, thankful…  I am

 

My real friends, I can count on one hand

I treasure, love each one

How fortunate, thankful… I am

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “How Fortunate, Thankful… I Am

  1. It is great to appreciate what we have in life. It can be measured in different ways. I think that everyone wants the same thing. I too appreciate my husband, cats and kids as well as grand kids. Also I appreciate my cousins even though they live far away.

  2. I am thankful I know you, Skip and the pups.

    The only friends I have left to trust are all online unfortunately.

    Those around me that hurt me so often keep telling me how wonderful I am – while betrayal is only a paycheque away… 😦

    Love and squishy hugs always! 🙂

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

