In Any Hole…


In Any Hole
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

efc63-4-20-2013075

 

I sit here, yawning, as I look back at this morning. My eyes are watering… I’m thinking about going back to bed! That’s something I don’t normally do. It’s raining outside… will be all day long. I’m … sleepy!

The Pups would love it if I went back to bed. All three of them would jump up on the bed, snuggle up to me… sleep as long as I would. When Skip is home… they snuggle up to him, also. We have … snuggly Pups. Kissy… Chadwick… Camie.

Getting back to this morning (I just yawned again! I might just go back to bed! :)))… I came into the kitchen. I went to the counter… saw that I’d forgotten to wash the coffee pot last night. I thought… ‘darn’!

I ran warm water in the red dish pan… added blue Dawn dish detergent to make it sudsy. I scrubbed the glass pot shiny-clean. I took the filter out, threw the old coffee grounds in the white trash can.

I love to feel warm, sudsy water on my hands. It’s comforting, soothing… especially on cold days.

I took a pitcher of water, began pouring it into the coffee pot. I froze… cold water ran down over the countertop, down onto the cabinet doors… onto the floor. Not a little water… a lot of water!

My feet were soaked with cold water! I woke up … I no longer felt sleepy!

What have I done, I thought! I looked to see what was wrong with that coffee pot!

I saw immediately nothing was wrong with the coffee pot… it was me! I was going to fill the coffee pot up with water … instead of pouring water in the right hole… I had poured it through the hole where the coffee filter goes!

How in the world did I not know any better! I’ve been making coffee for years. Was I pouring water in just any hole, thinking it would do? I don’t think I was thinking at all… I just poured the water in any hole…

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “In Any Hole…

  1. Oh Gloria!!! πŸ™‚

    I get instant coffee as I can’t get fresh ground coffee any more and most of the time I drink tea, but I can’t help but relate to your mishap! πŸ™‚

    Hope the mess wasn’t too bad! πŸ™‚

    Love and huge hugs!!!

    Prenin.

    (Still laughing! πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

