Finger Herpes…


Finger Herpes

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee… Summer 2013

 

 

Did you know that you can get… finger herpes?  Finger herpes from a pedicure?

 

Well, you can!  I have never heard of finger herpes until I watched The Doctors on tv.  I couldn’t believe my ears.  Not only does it affect your fingers… it can affect your toes!

 

It’s also, called ‘herpetic whitlow‘.  Herpetic whitlow/finger herpes can appear as lesions on your fingers, thumbs.  You can look it up to learn more about it…. I’m just sharing what I think about it.

 

I’m not an expert on it… but, you can be sure I’m aware of it now!  I won’t be getting another one!

 

I used to go have manicures/pedicures.  The last time I went… my toe nails were sensitive.  Thankfully, I didn’t get an infection.  I think I was on the verge of it… maybe because I love to keep my toes clean, happy :)))… it saved me!

 

Oh, also… the last time I was in the nail salon… I noticed the basins aren’t cleaned properly… I saw ‘skin’ left on the side of one.  That’s not a good thing.

 

I watched some of the oriental girls… I suspected they used their tools over.

 

I am so happy I never began getting the acryllic/fake nails.  You know how I love beautiful colors, designs… so, you can imagine how hard it was for me to resist doing that.

 

Getting the fake nails, pedicures/manicures… makes you flirt… with getting an infection.  Infections that can make one very sick…. for months… even die from one.  I’m afraid of getting my nails done like that… though, when I see those wonderful colors… I ‘almost’ reconsider my decision!

 

I will polish my nails, keep them clean… wear them natural.  I won’t take a chance on getting …finger herpes, or… worse!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Finger Herpes…

  1. Never heard of finger herpes!!! 😯

    I look after my own nails though even though my toenails sometimes look like I need machine tools to cut them! 🙂

    While my grandparents were alive I used to cut my granddads toe nails and had to use wire cutters they were so thick!!! 😯

    Lack of cleanliness in nail salons sounds like a good way to spread it though… 😦

    Love and squishy hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. Pingback: I Bet You Won’t Wear Shorts To The Movie Theater Again! | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

  3. Well Granny with your diabetes it is very wise to go to a podiatrist and get your toenails cut and any other problem, blisters because of shoes ect. Medicare DOES pay for a Podiatrist because of your diabetes. And Medicare will pay there 80% and the 20% is probably as much if not more than a pedicure!

Leave a Reply

