My Brother’s Hammer…


My Brothers Hammer…

Submitted by grannygee on May 19th, 2014 –

 

My Brother’s Hammer…
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Today, I needed a hammer. I went to ‘my tool drawer’, took a hammer out… laid it on the countertop.

I closed the drawer back… stood there, remembering where I got the hammer. It’s stainless steel, and on one side has the initial ‘E’… on the other side, initial ‘N’.

It’s a homemade hammer, and it was given to me with love… years ago. I’ve always treasured the stainless steel hammer. I used to have a stainless steel flower that I also, treasured. Both hammer, flower were made by the same person.

That same person made a stainless steel grill that I always admired. He made it for his step-father, our mother. It was a wonderful grill.

The hammer, and flower were in the housefire where we lost all in it. I found the hammer… but, the flower never was found. I treasured this hammer even more.

I used the hammer, put it straight back up… so, it can never become lost. Why? Because it is my brother’s hammer… he gave it to me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “My Brother’s Hammer…

  1. The memories we find attached to everyday objects that become more and more precious with time! 🙂

    I treasure my video tapes and the memories they contain even though events over the past 23 years have been stained by treachery and broken trust.

    I am glad you have a good memory my friend! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

