I Tried To Weigh My … Footprints … Today


I Tried To Weigh My  … Footprints … Today

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

(My Photo … my Footprints :)))

Dusty … I looked around, deciding to get the little duster I kept for removing dust off the furniture.

Dust was everywhere.  It was understandable as we live close to a busy, country highway.  Farm equipment, trucks … traffic.

I dusted all off … I was glad to have it done.  That’s the one thing I ‘hate’ to do …. dust.  I am the type of person who wants all to ‘stay just as I make it when I clean up … clean, ‘perfect’.  Of course, it doesn’t.

I walked into the bathroom to wash my hands.  I was looking in the mirror at my hair … when the thought came to me … I’m going to weigh.  I should weigh more often, I thought.

I closed the door to get to the black, glass scale behind it.  I stopped just as I almost closed the door.  Amazing, I thought!

On the black glass scale was a perfect set of footprints!  Small footprints … my footprints!  I stood there staring at them … a silly thought came to mind.  How could I preserve them?  Who would I preserve them for?  I laughed to myself … you only do that with a child’s footprints.

The footprints were so perfect there in the dust … on the black glass scale;  I didn’t want to just dust them off … I wanted to at least do something special with them.  I mean who ever gets to see perfect footprints left … on the scale?

I decided … I would weigh them.  I tapped my big toe on the edge of the scale to make it come on.  I watched the zeros … waited to see how much my footprints weighed.  I can tell you firsthand … my footprints didn’t … weigh anything!

2 thoughts on “I Tried To Weigh My … Footprints … Today

  1. Good one Gloria! 🙂

    My dusty scales are currently in my living room (and will be until the upgrade fixes are done) so I checked my weight and it is holding at 100Kg (202Lbs) despite a strict diet! 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend hun – we’re expecting all kinds of bad weather here including thunderstorms! 🙂

    Love and huge hugs!

    Prenin.

    • I hope you don’t get bad storms, Prenin. I’m trying to get back in the swing of writing, computer. The past two weeks were hard for me… I can’t believe they were… I still go through periods of grief… I get back out of them quick as possible. :))))) Love, Gloria

Leave a Reply

