Pain Isn’t Always From Getting … Old


Pain Isn’t Always From Getting … Old

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Photo of me as a younger woman … I was strong, invincible … and was going to ‘save the world’….Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

Be careful of how you treat your body when young.  You are healthy, strong … you can carry the whole world on your shoulders.  You are invincible.

When there’s work to be done, something heavy to be moved, nobody else can do it … you are the one to do it.  You treat your body like a workhorse.  You can do anything.

As you become older, you notice you feel a little stiffness in your body when you go to get up from a seated position.  In fact, getting out of bed might hurt … at least a little.

You get a little more older … you find out your joints hurt like hell.  Your knees are shot … you have to get injections in them in order to walk … make the pain go away.

You begin to get surgeries due to life-saving illnesses, or whatever reason.  Oh my, you really do hurt when you go to stand up, walk.  You body is full of … pain.  It hurts, your whole body really hurts.

No, it’s not because you are … old.  It’s from the wear and tear on your body.  You might not have taken care of your body through time.  You wish to have a second chance … you’d know what not to do … now.

You have to stop, see the humor in it.  I know that sounds strange, but … think about it.  Think about all the surgeries you’ve had … you are almost embarrassed to tell a doctor ‘all’ the things your body has been through.  You have scars to show it.

I smile thinking about all my body’s been through.  It’s not funny … but, it’s amazing when I think about it.  I smile thinking how happy I am to be here … no matter the pain.  In my situation … I have a love-hate relationship with pain.  To live … I have to have pain … I love to live.

Pain isn’t always from getting … old.  It’s from all your body, mind has been through … through time.  No, pain isn’t always from getting … old.

Photo/Story Credit:  Photo, story owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/ aka &grannygee

3 thoughts on “Pain Isn’t Always From Getting … Old

  1. I know what you mean! 😦

    My joints hurt now because I was overweight, but even though I can now walk without pain thanks to my dieting my hips still ache to remind me! 😦

    Hope you feel better soon my friend!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • :))) I am doing okay, Prenin! I was ‘just thinking’ when I was writing. 🙂 I do know pain in my hip, too. When I took my ‘cowboy fall’ last summer … I didn’t know until this year that I had broken a piece of bone in my hip! Was I ever surprised! I knew the pain kept progressively getting worse. Now, I have to stand a moment to let the pain stop … to walk. 🙂 I’m no stranger to pain… I do what I have to do, ha! Happy day, Prenin! Love, Gloria 🙂

  2. Pingback: You See It In People’s Faces… | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a Reply

