My Characters Speak For Themselves …


My Characters Speak For Themselves …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Photo is of me, owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/ aka Granny Gee …

I wanted to take a few minutes to let people who know me, don’t know me … to know that I write stories … they aren’t necessarily true stories.  I add my thoughts to my stories to make them real.  Some people take them too seriously, sometimes.  I feel like when they do, I wrote the story … ‘real’ enough.  🙂

Sometimes, I will hear something in the background on tv, around me … and go off on a writing spree.

Example:  the story I wrote about ‘I Don’t Give A Damn How You Are’ … that story came from hearing in the background on tv … a woman in an office setting saying, “hello-ooooooooooo, how-wwww are-eeeeeeeeeee you-uuuuuuuu”.

I began instantly thinking about how fakey it was … how it bothered me to hear someone say that.  I worked in an office setting for years, and I knew when one of the women said such in ‘that tone’… it wasn’t real.  They really didn’t give a damn.  Truth is the truth.

Anyway, I think people really thought I was meaning myself … like it was me who didn’t give a damn ‘how you are’.  It wasn’t me.  It was just writing.  It was one of those times, I went off on a little writing spree.  It was taken too seriously.

I am going to say this to those who don’t know me, and are new to my writing.  I’m a for-real good person who has been through very bad things in my life.  I ‘could have been very, very bad’ … from the things that happened … I chose to be a good person.  I do care about people, feelings… animals.

I am very private, but, it doesn’t mean I don’t notice, or care about people around me.  I care more than anyone knows.  Sometimes, I don’t know how to show it.  When someone begins getting too close to me … I begin backing off.  It’s just me … it doesn’t mean I’m mean, or bad.  I can’t afford to be ‘too close’ to anyone … I don’t need any extra pain.

I don’t write about any one thing.  But … one thing that I do write at any time is grief, and remembering Tommy, my son.  I know pain, grief … how most things in life feel from experience.  It’s why I write … and I don’t need anyone to feel sorry for me.  I don’t feel sorry for myself.  No one has to take what I write … too seriously.

Whenever, I see someone doing that (I read the comments you write) … I have to stop time to time … to write what you are reading at this very moment.

Just know that whatever happens to be on my mind … isn’t for anyone to take too seriously.  The story I wrote about the mother (Is This What My Son Died … Fighting For?) … wasn’t a true story in my life … but, it is in … someone’s life.  It just came to me, when my heart felt for the mother of a soldier who died in Afghanistan.  No, I didn’t know her … but, as a mother of a son who died … that came to my mind.

We are all human, and we focus on what’s in our immediate life.  I know we all aren’t aware every moment that young men are on foreign soil fighting, losing their lives for us.  I think of it a lot; some people do.  We have to live life wherever we are … I realize that.  We are what we think about …

Anyway … just know, I am a most caring, compassionate person.  No matter what I write, the several ‘ugly’ words I use from time to time … doesn’t mean I’m not a good person.

When writing, one has to write what’s on one’s mind at that time … sometimes, in order to be written as it needs to be … an ‘ugly’ word has to be used.  It doesn’t mean I’m being ugly.  That’s what writers do …  ‘My characters speak for themselves’ …

2 thoughts on “My Characters Speak For Themselves …

Leave a Reply

