It Takes A Stranger To … Bring Tommy Back


It Takes A Stranger To … Bring Tommy Back
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 My son, Tommy, died May 29, 2010, at Myrtle Beach, SC

 

I sit waiting, as I do … I people watch
I’ve always done such … now, I watch for someone special

 

 

Strangers laughing, talking … going their way
To where, I do not know

 

 

I watch with a soft smile on my lips
I love to see life moving along in harmony

 

 

Oh! I see what I’ve been waiting to see!
I raise up off my seat to be sure not to miss a thing

 

 

The sunshine turns into a spotlight, the world becomes a stage
I watch the main character walk into view

 

 

I catch my breath in my throat … it’s him!
Hair of gold … smile as bright as the sunshine

 

 

Walking tall, good posture … like a gentle giant
He never notices me, nor senses my reaction

 

 

I’m standing, don’t remember when I stood
Warm tears flow down my cheeks …

 

 

I smile, relax … sit back down
I’m so happy to see the stranger, whose name I don’t know

 

 

Who played the part of my son, Tommy
The main character, brought him alive to me … for a few moments

 

 

I sit, think … I wonder who, when … someone will do this again
Play the part of my son … bring back alive so, I can ‘see him’

 

 

See him come alive if just for a few moments
Walk, talk, smile … laugh

 

 

How do I not know … it isn’t really Tommy
Come back for a moment or two … to ease my grieving Heart?

 

 

To make his mother smile through her tears
A stranger … making Tommy come alive for a moment, or two

 

 

I can’t watch my grandson grow up, who looks like his father
I have to watch a stranger who stars in a … Tommy show

 

 

It takes a stranger to bring Tommy back, so … I can see someone look like him
When I should be seeing his son grow up … like his father did

 

 

I should be watching my grandson through the years ahead
Seeing ‘how like’ … Tommy, he is

 

 

Seeing if he grows as tall as Tommy, combs his hair like Tommy
If he walks, sits in perfect posture as his father did

 

 

Hear his soft voice, laugh … watch his mannerisms
I should see my son through my grandson … it takes a stranger to bring Tommy back

 

 

 

Photo/Story Credit belongs, owned by me, Gloria Faye Brown Bates. Photo is of Tommy, my son, holding his only son, Taban.

3 thoughts on “It Takes A Stranger To … Bring Tommy Back

Leave a Reply

