Colors Of Life Make The World Go ‘Round…


Colors Of Life Make The World Go ‘Round …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

Skip and I … we were always told we were a beautiful couple.  My Hero, Soulmate, Best Friend.  Photo owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee  …

 

 

 

 

You are scaring me! Don’t tell anymore scary stories, Faye! Of course, this prompted me to tell more gory stories … embellishing them with all kind of details! I loved scaring my cousins with my made-up stories. I could tell funny ones, too!

One of my cousins … would tell me I was scaring her, and she could see my eyes glowing in the dark! She died in a horrible crash with a log truck. It was really a bad time … our home had just burned down several days before.

I remember in my shock … that both of us were in the newspaper at the same time… house burns down; horrible crash. We would have never imagined such growing up … several months before that … her brother, my cousin committed suicide (many people say it wasn’t suicide).

My imagination works overtime … not all the time, but … a lot of the time. I think of the craziest things … don’t ask me ‘where’ it all comes from. I have cousins who are like me … they also, loved to write. In fact, no one knew that I loved to write all these years! Not until after Tommy died … I think I shocked everyone.

In fact, some people seemed to resent it very much. Especially when I got a book in print. When I’d see ‘old friends’ … it seemed to piss them off. In fact, one woman began backing away from me … she didn’t believe me … she thought I’d lost it because my son died.

I’ll never forget how she hurt my Heart … I would have expected better of her. I don’t even acknowledge her when I see her … it’s like she is a stranger. You know … give a polite smile, go your way.

I guess I would have to say, expect losing some ‘friends’ if you write (notice I put parentheses around ‘friends’ … that means … they were never friends to begin with … I ‘see’ through people).

They hate you, are jealous of you … or they hope you’ll be famous, and ‘they are your friends, relatives’, then. If they find out you aren’t famous … they quickly drop you. It’s funny … when/if the day comes … they won’t be a part of it.

I am not famous, just an unknown author. I don’t mind being that … I did what I wanted, I’m so glad I did. I wrote a book about my grief when my only child, my son … Tommy, died. He won’t ever be forgotten … never- ever. He is the reason I began writing, letting others know I write.

I accomplished what I meant to … people all over the world know who Tommy was … they won’t forget him for me. It means the world to me.

My second book is a thin book … an introductory to Victoria Fairchild. She is my main character … she’s the kind of person who takes care of business if she sees someone mistreating either animals, or people. She will do whatever it takes … even to the point of making sure … it never happens again.

My third book, is about the little puppy I rescued. For some time, I couldn’t write at all after that book. I went through a lot of pain, grief never knowing ‘why?’ As the months rolled on, I began to come back … to write again.

My three published books can sell … or not sell … I don’t worry about them … I just keep writing. Not only that … I have copyrights to them … I’m happy to have them! I’ve never held a book signing, yet … it doesn’t matter. Maybe it will some day, right now … it’s no big deal … don’t ask me ‘why?’ … I sure need the money, would welcome the money.

Lately, it’s felt really good to write about something … about nothing … just write. I’m inspired enough to work on my second Victoria Fairchild book. I want it to be just the scariest book! Victoria Fairchild is a wonderful person … and the best person to have on your side. She is going to be just as bad … as she is good. She will use her imagination to take care of ‘bad’ people.

No matter what someone thinks … the world always needs someone mean enough … tough enough … to protect the weak. Someone who will go to any lengths to protect once … and for all; Victoria Fairchild meets all that … and more. She doesn’t leave loose ends that can come back to bite one in the ass.

She has a cousin who is ‘tit for tat’ … she has powers, also. You’d never believe what she paints her paintings with. She is just as dark as Victoria is fair. Neither knows how far the other’s powers go …

These are some of the thoughts in my mind on this Monday evening. Fall time is around the corner … it’s my favorite time of the year. I actually feel excitement this year.

In fact, since Tommy died in 2010 … it’s taken this long for me to begin to feel excitement about anything. I can’t believe the actual thrill inside when I think about fall things, the State Fair, holidays. I’m so thankful to feel all these things once again.

Once I accepted Tommy can’t come back no matter what I do … and that he knew I loved him with my Heart … he loved his mother with his Heart (me) … that it’s okay to begin living life again … gradually, I have gotten better.

I look back at the journey I have been on … and think ‘Oh God’ … it was so scary, lasted so long, so dark. A part of me died … my only child … I can’t believe I’ve come this far … I made it … I really made it through. I’m amazed … because I … knew the thoughts that were in my mind, ‘then’.

Yes, I made it through the darkness … the darkest of dark I’ve ever experienced in my life. I’m glad I can’t remember ‘all’, now. Everything seems … like a dream. But … that’s the way of ‘bad’ things … it really does take time … to get past them.

I think sometimes, I worry someone will think … I am bad … when I’m writing my scary story 🙂 Then again, one can’t control the characters in a book … the story has to go on. The characters do, speak for themselves … you just write them.

You don’t tell your characters what to do … they tell you what they will do … your hand just brings them to life, just as a potter makes a beautiful vase. You weave your words like a weaver … splashing colors here, there to make it interesting to read.

Scary colors … happy colors … sad colors … mad colors. Colors of life make the world go ’round.

 

 

 

Photo/Story owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/ aka Granny Gee

 

6 thoughts on “Colors Of Life Make The World Go ‘Round…

Leave a Reply

