Feet On The Wall …


Feet On The Wall …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

This little girl learned to be a mean little girl sometimes, in the process of learning how to survive Hell.  The photo is of me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/ aka Granny Gee  &grannygee

Photo is of my wonderful Grandma Alma & George … I loved them with my Heart.  George was blind, Grandma Alma was paralyzed on one side of her body.

All photos are owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

I cried as the pain coursed through my arm. Damn it! That hurt! Don’t do that again, I cried!

My Grandma Alma told me to take my feet off the wall, put them under the bedcover. Right now!

I had learned to be a mean, little girl … not all the time … but, when pain happened … it made me feel angry. I didn’t take them down right away.

Her one good hand reached for my arm again. She pinched me good! I took my feet off the wall, then.

I began crying. That hurt, Grandma. My feet had gotten warm under the covers, and I stuck them out to cool. The wall looked inviting … the next thing I knew, they were on that wall!

George and Grandma Alma had two full-size beds in the bedroom. They slept in their own bed. I lived there for a time, had to sleep in Grandma Alma’s bed. I slept on the side near the wall.

Grandma Alma had made me put my feet under the cover … now, my feet wouldn’t be happy until they were on that wall, again. How can ‘old’ people know everything, I wondered. Everytime my feet neared the edge of the bedcover, Grandma Alma seemed to know it. Damn!

Well, something happened that haunts me to this day. I could cry thinking about it … if I let myself.

Several nights later, my feet decided they had a mind of their own. They took themselves out from under the bedcovers, put themselves on that wall. My toes wiggled, feeling so good because the wall was cool. I could fall asleep like that!

Get your feet off the wall, Faye! Grandma Alma had raised her voice to me. Not only that, she pinched me hard! I began crying … and felt mad at my Grandma Alma. I reached back, pinched her on her arm … hard!

Ouch! Faye, that hurts! I could hear the pain in her voice. I was so sorry instantly for hurting my Grandma Alma. I’m sorry, Grandma, I’m so sorry.

Afterwards, I couldn’t keep it off my little girl mind. I had hurt my Grandma. I could swear she almost cried. It broke my Heart.

Through time, I’ve always thought about it … especially, when my feet can reach a wall while I’m in bed. Not long ago, I did that very thing … I put both bare feet on the wall!

I instantly felt bad … the memory of pinching my Grandma Alma’s arm popped up in my mind. I took my feet off the wall.

I have done this over the years as an adult, always wondering why I couldn’t put my feet on the wall. Being an adult, it’s no fun to do it now. 🙂 Maybe the memory of pinching my poor Grandma Alma … clouds doing it. Also, maybe ‘it’s not nice’ to put my feet on the wall! 🙂

Oh, sometimes … I like to do something not nice! I know I’ll do it again sometime in my life … I just have to. It’s one of my secrets. 🙂

If you ever do it … make sure your feet are very clean. When you put them on the wall … only let them rest in one place. You’ll feel the coolness on the bottom of your feet, and your wiggly toes! 🙂

Maybe if … I’d never been told not to do it … I would have never … done it again! So, I know I will have my … feet on the wall … again in the future.

 

 

Photos/my true story are owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee &grannygee

Note: Sometimes, we all have little, silly things we like to do just for the sake of doing them. Sometimes … we don’t know ‘why’ we do them … unless maybe trying to provoke a memory.

 

2 thoughts on “Feet On The Wall …

Leave a Reply

