Somewhere Over The Rainbow … Has made me Cry, Today … I Cant’ Go Back


Somewhere Over The Rainbow … Has Made Me Cry, Today … I Can’t Go Back

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Grandma Alma … George in top photo.  Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee in middle, bottom photos.

She began singing … my Heart began filling with tears

Somewhere inside … where my tears come from … they began to fall

Fall from my eyes, drenching my lashes with diamond teardrops

The female voice sang … Somewhere Over the Rainbow … instantly throwing me into the past

A little girl sat cross-legged on the old, dusty, wooden floor… Hell forgotten for a few moments

Behind her … sat an older woman, tears in her eyes … beautiful smile on her face

An elderly man sat in an old, cane chair, his sightless eyes shining with a smile

The sweetest expression on his kind face … an adult transported back to being a child

The little girl’s Grandma Alma … her step-grandfather, George

The kindest man she’d ever known … the only grandfather she ever knew

The little girl who used to be … me, Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Somewhere over the rainbow… has made me cry today … I can’t go back

I cry for the loss of grandparents I’ll never see again …

I cry, because, now … I can appreciate them fully for the people they were

Little munchikins walk out dancing, singing … Grandma Alma, George smile

Forgetting the hell they sat in … focusing on the munchikins … following the yellow brick road; happy … magical moments in their life

The little girl smiled, laughed in delight … in the mind of the older woman she has become today … at her precious memory

Somewhere over the rainbow … has made me cry, today … I can’t go back

Go back to a time, visit one such precious moment … there were very few

I treasure the memory of smiles, laughter I can see … hear in my mind from a time long gone

Something special in the midst of Hell … a grandchild sitting, for a moment in … Heaven

With her grandparents, laughing … excited … The Wizard of Oz just came on tv!

I heard a woman sing ‘Over The Rainbow’ today … I was sent into the past

Somewhere over the rainbow … has made me cry, today … I can’t go back

2 thoughts on “Somewhere Over The Rainbow … Has made me Cry, Today … I Cant’ Go Back

Leave a Reply

