I Didn’t Stay Down Long … This Time


I Didn’t Stay Down … Long This Time
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee … December 2014 …

This weekend, I have been creating … little Christmas trees, and an angel. The angel was created without me planning to create it. I love it!

It gave me the chance to ‘save’ a pretty piece (brooch), use it at the same time. Look at the angel head … don’t you think her head was worth saving?

For those who don’t see the photos … just come to my blog where all my photos are (or to Facebook.com/grannygee ) … you can see my photos.

Skip loved my Christmas tree … so, that made me happy I made it. I couldn’t believe I could actually sit down long enough to create, be artistic. It wasn’t easy at all to do such through the past four years.

I’m thinking … I’m so much happier creating, making something colorful, happy, even beautiful!

This Christmas is the first time since Tommy has been gone. Who knew? I didn’t know I would ever want to paint, draw, create again.

Writing … writing has been the life boat I have been riding these four years … I’m afraid to think what would have been if I couldn’t have been writing. It was my only way to make the pain flow out of me … like a stormy river. Sometimes, the waters were calm … at an moment … all hell would break open.

Grief is like that. One minute you think you are alright … and you’ve got it licked … the next thing you find yourself … on the ground … once again.
I just experienced it ‘once again’ … last Sunday, in the most unexpected way. (come to my blog at http://happycolorsandgrannygee.blogspot.com to read what I am talking about … The End of Granny Gee).


All I can say ‘now’ … is … I have picked my ass up off the ground for the ‘millionth’ time … pants are dusted off … I’m living life again … and I’m feeling happiness inside … once again. I didn’t stay down long, this time.

Photo/Story both owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

One thought on “I Didn’t Stay Down Long … This Time

Leave a Reply

