No More Tangled Up Dragonflies …


No More Tangled Dragonflies …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

Photo is owned by me, Gloria Faye Brown Bates

 

Dragonflies … bracelets made by me.

I sit quietly in my world … making dragonflies

Dragonflies in memory of my son, Tommy

I hide them in a drawer, not knowing what to do with them

Until one day … the idea came to me

Why not share them with someone … not just anyone

But … with the ones who are meant to find them

How does one know … they are meant to find a dragonfly?

The answer is easy … if they find a dragonfly made by me

Then … they were meant to find, keep … treasure it

My drawer is empty now … no more dragonflies to build up, hide

I ‘release’ them wherever I may go … once in a while give one away

Give one to someone who has been special in my life, one way or other

I’m glad not to be hiding them, now … they were getting tangled up

They are made by wrapping, weaving gold wire, adding beads

I write a card out by hand, saying ….

I make dragonflies in memory of my son, Tommy

Instead of hiding them, I place them in places for others to find

I hope it’ll bring a smile to your face, something good in your life

I never take money, or anything in trade for these dragonflies

Made from my Heart … because, I find comfort in sharing them

Hoping I can make happiness for someone from my sadness

There aren’t ever any strings attached … to the dragonflies I make

Like the wind, they are free once I ‘release’ them

To be found, held … hopefully touching one’s heart, bringing a smile

Sometimes, people who are kind, generous people may feel they need to give back to me

I let them know in a gentle way … I can’t take anything for them

Or, I’d be defeating my purpose in making dragonflies from my Heart

I am always honored when someone offers … hope they can understand why I can’t take …

When I give … I give freely, never look back

Especially … when I release my dragonflies for someone to find

This is my way of never forgetting my son … Tommy

My way of finding some comfort from the never-ending grief in my Heart

My thoughts are focused on the gold wire, beads … shaping, molding them … instead of negative thoughts

I find happiness, because … now, my dragonflies aren’t hidden in a drawer

Where it’s dark, lonely … sad … where no one could see

No more tangled dragonflies … they can be anywhere in the world … bringing joy to someone, smile to their face

…………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Note by this author … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

I hope I haven’t hurt anyone’s feelings by not accepting special things from them in return for my dragonflies.

I worried that I may have hurt someone’s feelings (someone who wanted to send me a photo of a project they are working on … and a picture of my favorite animal … how special that was to offer to do that … my very Heart was touched.

I understood where he was coming from … like me … he wanted to give back. I hope you read this, instantly know who you are … so, you will know I worried about hurting your feelings, never meaning to.

This was one of those times … I couldn’t take from anyone. If you read this, please understand … it wasn’t because I didn’t want something special you did … just know this was a … dragonfly moment).

Poem … photo are owned by me. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

7 thoughts on “No More Tangled Up Dragonflies …

  1. I love what you are doing GG! Coincidentally, I was watching our dogs through the window this morning and they were leaping around weirdly trying to catch something and guess what? It was a dragonfly (which I hardly ever see here). Don’t worry – they didn’t catch it!

    • Prenin, I’m honored. Did I tell you that along with the Dragonfly came… special wishes for good things to happen in your life? 🙂 Love, Gloria I also, sent a wish that you’d win that lottery you wish to win! I hope that comes true for you!

Leave a Reply

