Even Sweet Things Bite …


Even Sweet Things Bite …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

My little hands parted the green blades of grass

The leaves of the different flowers planted there

I wanted to find the bottom of the flower I had chosen

So that I could pick it for my grandma

 

Instead my eyes were riveted on the nest there

With little baby mice in it, how sweet they were

My heart melted as I pick some of the babies up

It quickly became cold when one of them bit me hard

 

I put it back down, tilted my head

Looking at something so sweet, precious

Then, looking at my finger to see the blood

That damn little mouse bit me…. on the finger

 

With that on my mind, I ran into the house of Hell

To tell my Grandma Alma, George

About the little nest of mice I’d just found

Someone mentioned they’d have to kill them

 

I ran back outside, quickly found that nest

I took it to another place, hid it well

Someone came out to kill the babies

They didn’t… because to this day they never found them

:)))

 

Photos/true poem owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@grannygee

2 thoughts on “Even Sweet Things Bite …

Leave a Reply

