So, You See … They Lie When They Say All Things Are Possible


So, You See … They Lie When They Say All Things Are Possible

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@grannygee

This is the age I became convinced I could sing … ha! ha! ha!  I could dance, do everything … but, sing!

Singing in the rainsinging in the shower.  Singing when there’s victory … singing when married … singing when there’s a funeral.

Singing, singing, singing.  Everything’s a musical … we humans love to sing.  I love to hear singing. I’m just mad because I can’t sing.  I want to sing!

You know the saying that ‘nothing is impossible’?  That’s not true, it’s just not true at all.  It is … impossible for me to sing.  It would be a helpless cause trying to teach me.

I’ve never forgotten when as a child in the church choir … the choir leader told me to just move my mouth, don’t sing out loud!  That hurt my feelings … so, sometimes out of spite, I would sing!  Sing loud, too!  Everyone would look at me!  I would put my head down.  I wasn’t so brave when everyone … looked at me.

When I got a little older, I became convinced that I could sing!  I have a southern accent, and people say my voice is pleasant.  I used to work at a switchboard paging all day … people said my voice was musical.  Damn liars!

I know what they meant … my voice was soft, clear, pleasant over the speakers in the hall.  They didn’t really mean I could sing … how could they know whether I could or not?

Well … like I said, this idea that I could sing … got into my head.  I was singing with the radio … I mean I was singing.  I had all the moves … and I thought … the voice.

I decided to record me singing.  I knew I was going to be pleasantly surprised.  I set up my tape recorder, and had my music close by … I pressed the RECORD button, and began singing up a storm.

When I finished my song, I was excited to listen to myself.  I rewound the tape recorder, and pressed PLAY.

My eyebrows flew together in a terrible frown … my eyes crossed, my mouth began making awful movements.  Oh my God!  I couldn’t believe it!

I couldn’t believe the voice I was hearing!  It was singing a country song … a happy, peppy country song … the voice I was hearing was singing in slow motion!  It sounded pure-damn awful!  Just pure-damn awful!  I almost slung the tape recorder across the room.

No one needed to convince me that I couldn’t sing, ever again.  I know I can’t sing.  That little experiment I did … taught me once and for all … Gloria can’t sing one damn bit!  Not even the tiniest little bit!

So, you see … they lie when they say … all things are possible.

True story, photo are written, owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/http://www.bestwriters.net/?mref=GrannyGee

3 thoughts on “So, You See … They Lie When They Say All Things Are Possible

Leave a Reply

