Happy Mother’s Day To You …


By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

(Photos are of me, my son Tommy … poem written by me.  Owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee)

I know that lady

She used to be Tommy’s mother

He’s gone now, gone five years

I think he died from a heart attack

I’m not sure.  I heard his mother took it bad

Tommy loved his mother, she loved him

She might not ever be right again

It may do something to her mind

You know that was her only child

Poor thing, she doesn’t have more children

That’s what she gets for having one child

Now, she doesn’t have any … she’s motherless

Wonder what you call a woman

Who used to be a mother, no longer has children

She has nothing to show she’s a mother … anymore

No one to call her mother

No one to say, “I love you, mama”

She can never be a mother in this life

So, what’s she called, now?

A used-to-be mother, motherless woman

You are no mother, now … Mother’s Day isn’t for you

What does Tommy’s mother do

Each year Mother’s Day comes?

Since she’s no longer a mother, she can’t celebrate

Tommy’s mother doesn’t celebrate Mother’s Day, now

She does give thanks that a little baby came into her life

Tommy gave her 43 years to be a mother

No longer will she be sad when Mother’s Day comes

She will be wishing every other mother … Happy Mother’s Day

She will be imagining their happiness when their children come home

Tommy’s mother will be happy for other mothers

Not only that, she will be praying that other mothers’ children

Always be safe, live all the mother’s life

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers

From someone who can’t celebrate Mother’s Day

Know she’s thinking of you, wishing you well

Happy Mother’s Day to you!

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day To You …

  1. Gloria, your poem brought tears…for me five years in July. I lost two children two days apart and have three that I can mother; adults need mothering too. I can say that my love for those remaining three has not changed; I love them all equally. But, nothing can replace those gone from you. I visit their memorial places on Mother’s Day and I am humbled that I received a precious gift, I did not know it had a return date, I did not know my life would forever be changed; that the void could never be filled. Yet my friend, you know exactly what I am talking about and I am sending my love for Mother’s Day. Ann

  2. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 05/09/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

