Photos From the Past … Just in Time for Mother’s Day


Photos From the Past … Just in Time for Mother’s Day

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@grannygee

The two special photos that came in the mail … just in time for Mother’s Day.  Photos of my mother that I never knew existed.  Thank-you, Linda Lou.

I received something very special in the mail.  I opened the pretty, soft sage green envelope … took a folded, matching piece of stationery out, opened it up.

Inside were 2 photos of my mother as a young woman.  I had never seen these photos before.  I was thrilled to get photos of my mother I never knew existed.

Thank you to my cousin in Oregon for sending them to me.  You gave me a priceless gift.

I’ve sat here looking at the two photos … my mother as a young woman was full of personality, and sass.  I loved her very much.

In these photos, I think she was around twenty-four years old.  Do you know what strikes me as special, strange when I look at the young photos of her?

The last time I saw my mother was in the funeral home … she lay on the stretcher (I tried not to notice she was being embalmed) … her hair had been freshly washed.

Her hair was so soft … I touched my mother’s hair with my hand.  I placed the palm of my hand gently on her cheek, tears flowed down on my arms.  I kissed my mother goodbye.

What struck me as special, strange … was my mother had no stress on her face … she looked very young … just like her photos.  Her hair, her face … she was beautiful as she lay there.

Tommy, and I went to view her before she was cremated.  (The funeral home guy mislead my step-father about embalming … that was another $800-900 added to the cost of her funeral arrangements.  (Remember when cremating, normally … embalming isn’t required).

Photos from the past … of my mother.  I never knew they existed.  Thank you very much, Linda Lou.  They mean the world to me … I will treasure them.

Photos, story owned … written by me.  Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@grannygee

 

4 thoughts on “Photos From the Past … Just in Time for Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

