Month of May … Remembrance


 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@grannygee

My beautiful mother, and my little brother Rick-Rick.  I lost many photos in the house fire.  This is the only one I could find.

My Son, Tommy … his son, Taban.  He was just born on March 16, 2007.  Cover of book I wrote, published.

May 17, 2009 … remembering the man who stepped in front of Tommy’s big truck.  Tommy’s life changed … he suffered with Survivor’s Guilt.

It was the beginning of the end for Tommy.  He couldn’t get over the death, no matter it wasn’t his fault.  The man was a good man, his family and friends loved him.  Tommy read about him.  I watched my son cry over this man.  I cried over him.

May 29, 2010 … Tommy died exactly one year later.  Tommy died with 3 blockages to his heart at the age of 43.

Tommy died at the ocean running on the sand, playing with his 3 year old son.  He collapsed on the sand.

May 19, 2005 … my little brother, Rick-Rick … died from an overdose.  He had been doing good … we were helping him to get better.  We took him a drug treatment center, bought him clothes.  Oh, my little brother looked good, was very happy to wake up clear-headed.

Rick-Rick went to a friend’s house to spend the night.  He died sitting up on the sofa … his friend found him.

This is written in remembrance of the man whose life touched my son’s life … and of my son, Tommy … and my little brother, Rick-Rick.

Rest in peace.  I love, miss you my Son, Tommy.  You meant the world to me, Skip.  You were a part of our world.  I’m so glad I knew you, Son.

I love, miss you my little brother, Rick-Rick.  Ricky was the only family member who loved me back as much as I loved him, excepting for my mother, Grandma Alma.  I see this … looking back through time.

The month of May is a sad month for me.  This is written in remembrance … love for my Son, brother … and the man who touched Tommy’s life.

 

One thought on “Month of May … Remembrance

Leave a Reply

