Until the Age of 99 … Plus 1 Year More


Until the Age of 99 … Plus 1 Year More

Teardrops rolling down my cheeks

Plump and round … I press one

Smile through my tears

My cheeks feels cool

Just as the earth must feel

After a rain shower

For some time now

Death has been on my mind

Not in a bad or morbid way

I’m reflecting on losing my son five years ago

Two deaths this past week

Two people I knew in childhood

I’m filled with sadness and the thought

That could be me

I wonder who would feel sadness for me

I feel sadness for people I don’t know

People I do know and don’t like

People I do like, know

Death is always close by … waiting

Life is more fragile than one realizes

It can change in an instant

How many times has mine done so

If yours hasn’t … it will be hard to believe

You are less than invincible

I was like that at one time you see

On top of the world … you can’t knock me down

I was going to save the world, believe it or not

Well, the world hasn’t been saved

My strength ebbed away with the years

My mind changed when I became aware of what I was up against

I’m but a drop of water in a pond

Without all the water … my ripple can barely be seen

Only in the world around me can my strength be felt

Even that is ebbing away as I get older

Why am I here and so many gone before me

Were they more special than I?

Death is on my mind in a good way

A way that I sit it out in the open

Walk around it … study it from every angle

I face up to things that scare me

Meet them head-on … either I’m going on

Going on with my life … or I’m simply … going to die

What will it be, Death?

Am I going to live or am I … going to die?

I’m still here … I wonder if Death laughs at me?

I bluster up with a pretense of bravery

Oh no, I won’t back down

When really … I’m afraid … I’d back down in a moment

Does Death see that … toy with me?

I’m sure it does because life is fragile

It can take you, me in an instant

My teardrops clear, pure as diamond stones

Roll down my cheeks as I reflect

Upon this life … and death as I see it

Life … death walk hand in hand

Just as love … hate do the same

One is always close by the other

Have you thought of such

I live, I die … I love, I hate

You can’t have one without the other

I’m going to live until I die

I can’t die unless I live

I can love without hating

I’ll dance my life with Death

Twirl, spinning like a ballerina

Death constantly trying to claim me as I live

                                                    Rest in Peace our Sweet Chadwick Elsworth …

I’ve danced out of its grasp

Time after time … body weakened, broken

To get up time and again, ready to dance another song

I’m always sad when someone dances the last song

Especially when they are loved by so many

Myself … only my World loves me … Skip and our Pups

Others are missed by many … children, spouses, family, friends

I’m sad because when one’s gone

They leave a huge hole in the fabric of life

I think about my life and the hole

Left in the fabric of my life when I’m gone

I’ll leave a small hole easily patched, no one will notice

That’s okay with me … I’ll leave peace and quiet

Behind me as I go … oh, I’ll leave my many words

I’ve sat, typed through the years in cyberspace

I’ll live on through the years now

People will remember me in that way

See my photos, know I was a person … a good person

I don’t have a child to carry on the memory of me

Worse, my grandchildren will never know me

I learned to accept this long ago … that’s why I write

Write about the colors of my life

Happy colors, dark colors … they go hand in hand

You can’t have happiness without sadness

Life is that way … you’ll have good as well as bad

You can’t have all without the other

If so, I wonder if I envy you?

Why? Because to become the person I am today

I’ve had to experience bad, awful things to understand

What life’s all about … appreciate, be grateful for all I have

If I’ve learned anything that’s important about life

It’s to always be grateful, appreciate, love … go out of your way

To help someone come up in life, even if it’s only one step up

Others will come and do their … one step up

Never bring anyone down … if you can’t help just go away

Life is fragile … Death always has it by the hand

In a moment, it can take us down

Choosing someone we love deeply … or choose … us

Sometimes … I am just afraid

I’ll just keep writing, dancing to the tune of Life

Until one day when I’m tired of dancing

I will lay down on the floor … wait for Death to take me

Come take me Death … I’ll whisper softly

I’m ready to let Life go … take me into your embrace

Death will laugh at me in delight

No!  It’s not time for you to go!

You’ll dance to the tune of Life many years more

You’ll dance until you are 99 plus 1 year more

You won’t get out of living life so easily

Though I walk hand in hand with Life

Doesn’t mean you get to choose when I take you

So, dance a good song of life every chance you have

Be ready for me at any time … I’ll be watching

Leave behind only good memories of you

To patch the little hole in the fabric of Life

You leave behind … you are right … no one will notice

You are gone but, that’s all right

Less sadness in the world we live in

The better for us all … your words will touch others

In the future to come … give them hope to live their life

You will live on where others will die … only to be thought of

Your written words will be everywhere to be found

Just at the right time by the right person

To give them hope after experiencing all Life throws at them

Let them know that no matter what

Everything’s going to be all right … no matter how bad

Let them know that no matter how bad

Everything is still … good

To think about it … everything really is … going to be all right

I’ll dance to the tune of Life

Twirling, spinning like a ballerina

Until … the age of 99 plus 1 year more!

Photos, Artwork, Poem are all owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee on Facebook/@grannygee on World Famous Writers/@geegranny on Twitter

 

2 thoughts on “Until the Age of 99 … Plus 1 Year More

  1. None of us escape this life alive hun: Some of us are just lucky enough to live longer than others.

    Me?

    I could die tomorrow with no regrets! 🙂

    Love and huge hugs my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

