Don’t Even Try It!


Don’t Even Try It …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

Photo is of how I had porch arranged in past … photo is owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates

 

 

They wondered why they never got company anymore.  Ever since they got that new security system installed … everyone quit coming to see them.  I wondered why, too?

I’m curious by nature when something seems to be strange … I want to know what’s going on.

I asked them what time did company usually come … they said around 7:00, 8:00 pm in the evenings.  I decided I would pop up around 7:30 pm.

I drove into the driveway, thought for a moment I saw something move near the porch.  I got out, began walking up the sidewalk toward the porch, when …

When a huge 7 foot tall man stepped out in front of me … I wondered who he was.  I saw an emblem on his shirt.  Alas, he was too tall for me to read it.

I began to go around him … he put his hand on me, forcing me to stop.  I looked up at him, asked him who he was to stop me from seeing my friends.  He didn’t answer.  He let go of my shoulder.

I began to walk forward once again … his voice boomed out at me, “don’t even try it”!  I stopped in shock, looked at him closely.  Is this why everyone stopped coming to visit my friends?

I took several more steps … I woke up on the ground.  The big man was gone … I was ready to be gone too!

I waited until the next day to tell my friends that I knew why no one came to see them anymore.  Not only was their new security system protecting them from robbers breaking in … they were protecting them from their friends dropping by also!

Needless to say, they called the security company to come out to uninstall the system.

That evening I drove up to test it out.  My heart was in my throat as I got out of my car.  I began to walk hesitantly toward their home … I was afraid the big man would loom up in front of me again.  He might kill me this time!

I made it to the door, pressed the bell.  My friends opened the door, greeted me with a smile.  All had returned to normal.  🙂

Note by this Author:

This is fictional … I watched the commercial on tv where the big man told the robbers ‘don’t even try it’.  He was representing the security system being advertised.  My thought was suppose … it went on the blink … stopped both friend, and foe from coming to their house?

Photo/fiction story both owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

3 thoughts on “Don’t Even Try It!

Leave a Reply

