My Name Is Not Carol …


Do I Look Like a … Carol?

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

I was sitting here thinking about names I love.  I was thinking once again about … if … I had a choice … what would I name myself?

 

I am partial to the name in my book I gave to my main character.  Victoria Fairchild …  I love that name.  The name Victoria has always stood out to me.  Maybe I was a Victoria in a … previous life.  We’ll never know.

 

It’s really strange how people will keep calling you a name that isn’t your own … and they have been told repeatedly what your name is.

 

I think it’s strange … it has to happen for a reason we don’t understand.  Did they know you from a previous life … and remember subconsciously?

 

When I worked at the hospital, there was a woman who worked in dietary … no matter over the years … when she’d see me, she’d say, “Hello Carol”!

 

I told her lots of time that my name wasn’t … Carol.  Co-workers would tell her.  I truly … pure hated … the name Carol for me.  I didn’t look or feel like a … Carol.

 

She never stopped calling me Carol … and she liked me, always had a happy smile for me … I stopped telling her my name wasn’t Carol.  To this day … I am still Carol to her.  Isn’t it just strange?

 

I love my first name … Gloria.  I grew up hating my middle name … Faye.  When I use it by writing my whole name at one time … I like Faye … only when I write my whole name.

 

You know I love these names … through time I have named our dogs these names.  Some are:

 

Fairchild … Stafford … Chadwick Elsworth … Kissy Fairchild … Miss Sadie Maye … Stormy … the list goes on.

 

I love the spelling of names, today.  The names take on a special flair when they are spelled in a non-traditional way.  I think they become more special.

 

Crystal becomes Krystal.  Alice become Alycce.  You see what I mean … it’s like putting a bow on a present.  The present takes on another look … instead of plain, it’s now beautiful.

 

If I could name myself, I would name me Victoria Fairchild and my nickname would be … HappyColors.  🙂  Silly, but … that’s what I would do.

 

What names stand out to you?  I’m sure I would love a lot of them.  Oh … do I look like a Carol to you?  Don’t say I do!!!

My name is not Carol.

Photos/article owned/written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

2 thoughts on “My Name Is Not Carol …

  1. I have several nicknames: Prenin you know who was my healer cleric character, then Mickey’s kids called me uncle Podge, I was also called Sloopy Wafflebutt for a long time! 🙂

    When I was a kid I was Joe 90, the mad professor etc.

    But I chose Prenin as my web alter-ego and it stuck!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs1

    Prenin.

    • I like Prenin as I knew you first by that name. It’s a good nickname. It just seems perfect 🙂 Love, Gloria You will have to tell me again about your healer cleric character.

Leave a Reply

