Rocking Myself Up the Road …


Rocking Myself Up the Road …

Rocking Myself Up the Road …
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Clearing my throat as I type … “Did I do that”?  I’m not commenting … one never knows what we do when no one’s looking!  I bet you do the same … now, don’t say you don’t!  Photos are owned by me, but …. I am not responsible for the expressions in them.

 

 

Radio blasting in the truck as I ride
No, you can’t get in right now … why?
Because there’s so much music in the air

The music fills the air until there’s no room
Left for anything … only me and my music
Rocking away as we we go up the road

‘Rocking me, Baby … Keep on rocking me, Baby!’
My head’s bouncing like a bobble-head doll
‘Keep on rocking me, Baby!

I’m rocking in my truck going up the road
I look over to the next car … see a bobble-head
Our eyes meet … our heads rock, bobble in harmony

The light changes … we each go our way
We all march to the beat of our own drums
Gotta rock this thing out … gotta rock me, baby!

Fingers tapping in beat on the steering wheel
I peep around to see if anyone’s looking
The music not only fills my truck up … I’m so full I’ll burst

Because if no one is looking
I’m gonna keep on rocking me, baby!
Head bobbling, fingers tapping … I become the music

Cold chills make goose bumps on my arms
I know I’m rocking good when that happens
Going down the road in my pickup truck

Another red light stops the traffic
No can stop, I gotta go
I have to rock myself on up the road!

I’m rocking me, Baby
No can stop, I gotta go
I have to rock myself on up the road!

Note by this author:   Yes, I did that!  I’m going to do it again when the mood strikes!  I see you when I pass by you … I pretend not to look but, I see you having that … bobble-head … going!  🙂  Silly-ass poem is owned/written by the silly … in me.

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee …

4 thoughts on “Rocking Myself Up the Road …

Leave a Reply

