I Saw Grief In a Father’s Eyes Today


I Saw Grief In a Father’s Eyes Today

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee … I met up with pure, raw grief today … it affected me deeply.  I am walking on this road … I haven’t met up with anyone else before … whose child has died.

 

 

 

Today Skip and I met up with an old friend of his.  We haven’t seen him for years.

We told him that Tommy had died, and I saw pain instantly appear in his eyes.  His son died just months before Tommy died.  I saw the grief in his eyes, on his face.

I could tell the grief made it almost impossible for him to speak.  I knew how he felt … I’m on that same road in my life.  I didn’t press him to talk … I told him I was so sorry from my Heart.  His son was only 36 years old.

I could almost ‘see’ the grief … I looked at him … I sensed his mind was so full of unspoken grief.  It didn’t feel good looking at him … I sensed he hasn’t come as far as I have in coping.  Actually, it hurt me to look at him.

I know no other way of describing what I saw, and what I sensed.  He wasn’t the same person I remember.  The light was gone that always seemed to be in him years ago.

His eyes were so … full of pain.  I saw what people must have seen in my eyes … gracious.  It hurts me at this moment thinking about his eyes.  I saw raw grief in a father’s eyes today.

 

 

 

Author’s Note:  Photo/true account of how meeting up with pure/raw grief today affected me … owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.  My Heart feels so sad for that father.

3 thoughts on “I Saw Grief In a Father’s Eyes Today

  1. Pingback: The Loss of A Loved One | Mind Connections

Leave a Reply

