I Wish …


I Wish

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

 

 

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

I watched the models walk down the walkway.  Each in their glory … beautiful, polished … shining bright as a star.

Colors … textures … colorful materials … designs!  Oh, how I wish I had persued my dream of being a fashion designer as a young girl.  Instead … I chose to be an adult that I wasn’t ready to be.

The canvases of portraits, scenery painted in many colors … line each side of the hallway. I walked by each slowly to take in all the colors, the pure beautiful art someone did by hand.  Oh, how I wished to be the artist I always wanted to be!

Colors, more colors … many wonderful colors … I would be surrounded in all the colors more than the rainbow if I were either an artist … fashion designer.  Oh my … colors mean the world to me!

I watched the mechanic’s hands as he worked on a car.  I watched until I knew exactly what to do.  Oh, how I wished to be a mechanic in addition to all the other wishes of what I wish to be!  I could always help someone if their car broke down … help myself.

I can put things together … through time I have amazed my own self … I can take things apart carefully … put them back together again.  I am mechanically inclined.  I can use a hammer, a wrench.  I can do a lot of things … I did as a young woman … who would have thought a girly-girl dressed in beautiful dresses, high heels could do such?

I remember once being dressed to the max … having a flat tire.  I knew how to change my flat tire.  I knew I would have to take my high heels, stockings off to be able to bend down to do it.  I would have to pull my tight skirt up above my knees.  As I had made my mind up to go into action … a man stopped to help me.  I never let him know I could do it on my own.  I was just a girly-girl.  I appreciated it very much, plus he kept smiling at me.

I watched the doctor, nurses work over patients as they came into the ER.  Each one administering medicines orally, by injection.  I wished to be a doctor … a nurse.  Instead, I worked between the ER and registration office.  I got to hold hands, pat someone to give comfort … to show caring, speak soft, kind, sincere words.  I wanted to help everyone.  That was all I could do … I wasn’t a nurse, a doctor … I wished.

There are many things I wished to be.  I wished to be a lawyer to fight for people.  I would have been Hell to be reckoned with if I believed in someone.

I wished to be a millionaire … I promise you I would have helped thousands of people without them having to know it was me.  I wouldn’t need credit for good things I would want to do.  I would want to create miracles … I would wish to make everyone happy in the world.  I could be happiest knowing I did good.

I wish.

 

 

 

 

Note by Author:

I truly wished to be many things … I could never focus on one thing.  I reflect on my life … and see the many opportunities I never took advantage of.  I regret that.  I have a lot of regrets.  I wish …

True thoughts, wishes and photo owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter.

 

One thought on “I Wish …

  1. Our wishes are many, our options few.

    Hold onto your dreams, but remember all the good you have done in your life where you have made a difference! 🙂

    Love and huge squishy hugs to you, Skip and the pups! 🙂

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

