Easier Said … Than Done


Easier Said … Than Done

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

 

Yesterday, I wanted to get out of the house.  I rode with Skip to Walmart to pick up a few things.  It was easier said than done.

 

Normally, I would just go get into the pickup, Expedition … and I’d be ready to go.  Not so easy … ‘now’.

 

‘Now’ … I have to think things out ahead of time.  I am on crutches … and like when it’s raining I need to think before I take a step.

 

If one isn’t careful … a crutch can cause one to slip, fall … that would be a bad thing.  I found that out at Walmart.  They don’t have rugs on the floor when you enter … my crutch slipped.  Thankfully, I was being careful.  I can’t stand anymore pain!

 

I made it to the electric shopping cart.  Did I say how grateful I am that such things exist?  I am!  It made keeping up with Skip good.  I was afraid I would be embarrassed to ride one of the carts … I found that I’m not at all.

 

I can say the only thing I wish for is a place to keep one’s leg straight … I did ride in a lot of pain.  But … at the same time I felt so happy to be out of the house, doing something I love to do.  So, I’m not complaining at all.

 

I notice most people go out of their way to be nice, helpful.  I’m so glad because I know there are many people who are permanently disabled who have to use the electric shopping carts, crutches, and wheelchairs and all sorts of things.  I’m glad to know … most people will treat them good.

 

I will say that in this new journey of mine … I’ve seen two rude women who stepped in line in front of me … just like I wasn’t there.  I wonder how many people do that to people who are disabled?  Act like they aren’t there?

 

Well, the first time it happened, I did speak softly and tell the woman that I thought the line began behind me.  It completely pissed the woman off.  I really wished I hadn’t said anything.  So, the second time it happened … I didn’t say anything.  Shame on the women … I’m going to get better … but, what about the people who won’t get better?

 

I have to cancel the appointment with the orthopedic doctor tomorrow.  That’s because no one has been forthcoming with the insurance information … a doctor won’t touch me unless I have that information … or hundreds of dollars to pay up front.

 

I made the appointment thinking by that time tomorrow … the restaurant would come up with the info I need.  In the future … I will remember the extra pain I’ve been in since October 3rd.  No one has had any mercy on me … I have suffered.

 

I find it difficult to come out of the house to the porch.  There’s a step just outside the door.  I have a time going down it … onto the porch.  Then, there are 3 steps to get down from the porch … I have another time going down them.

 

My whole life is affected by this accident … going to bed is difficult for the pain.  Just to get up into bed can make me begin crying.  I don’t do it out loud … if Skip is home, he becomes upset seeing me suffer.  I want him to know everything will be alright.  I’m like that about him.  It’s because we are so close … we feel each other’s pain.  We speak each other’s thoughts.

 

Getting out of bed … same thing.  It’s very hard to move a leg with a broken knee cap, gracious.  Sometimes, I can’t help but, to cry out … I try not to.  Did I say some things are easier said … than done?

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

 

My whole life has been affected by my accident on October 03, 2015.  I still need medical attention … hopefully this week I will find out what I need to begin getting it.  Today is October 11th.

 

When I share my new journey with you … know that I don’t complain at all.  I tell you how it feels …  I can’t complain.  Why can’t I complain?  Because I’m a 16 year cancer survivor … and I’ve faced death since … I’m so thankful to be here!

 

I’m so grateful to be alive … I really try to make the best of what Life puts before me.  I try to learn from every experience … when I walk in others’ shoes I know what they go through … when they become my shoes.  This way I know first-hand what they go through.  When I am well … I will be one of the first people to help someone when I’m out and about.  I will know what to look for.  I am still learning.

 

It’s easier to say something now … than to do it.  If I want a drink of water … I go through a lot to get it.  I don’t just get up, go get it like I did, before.  To go to the bathroom, take a bath … neither is easy to do ‘now’.  I’m grateful that in the long run … I manage to get it all done … no matter how painful.

 

Do I feel sorry for myself?  Oh no, I never do that no matter what!  I try to recover from the shock of something happening and deal/cope with what’s in front of me.  This is no different.  I’m going to come out on top of it all.

 

Photo/true story owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Easier Said … Than Done

Leave a Reply

