It Must Be Another One of Life’s Lessons


It Must Be Another One of Life’s Lessons

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

Leaning back in my desk chair

I reflect on how my life has changed

Once again … I never saw it coming

I’m on another journey in my life

It’s up to me if I want to learn from it

It must be another one of Life’s lessons

I am seeing how people live

Who have lost their freedom to walk, move about

I am walking in their shoes … they are mine for now

I am learning how it feels to be on crutches

Ride an electric shopping cart

Be pushed in a wheelchair

I have helped many a person through time

Who walked with crutches, rode electric shopping cart

Be pushed in a wheelchair

Never knowing one day I would be in their shoes

Just as the time I battled with cancer

All the times I battled with many things

I have worn many shoes in my lifetime

Many were very painful … few were joyous

I’m in another pair of painful shoes

I look for the positive of having a broken knee cap

Such as I’m thankful for the crutches I walk with

The freedom to go out … even if it means

Riding in an electric shopping cart

Being pushed in a wheelchair

Hopping along on one foot, placing little weight on the other

I see I still want to open a door, help another

I’m too slow now … because I need help myself

I’m amazed at the people who come to my aid

I’m grateful to learn people really are kind

Toward others who are in their weaker times

More are kind than there are unkind

This is a learning experience, one I’ve never had

I’m thankful it’s temporary

One I can get better from

I know that in the future when I’m okay again

I will go out of my way even more … to help someone

Who walks with crutches, rides an electric cart … or is in a wheelchair

Note by this Author:

Poem/photo owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

I was sitting here thinking of the things I am learning from this new experience in life.  I took a fall on October 3, 2015.  It broke my kneecap.

Since I can’t change a thing … I have to make the best from a ‘bad’ thing.  I choose to make it a positive experience no matter how painful it is … it will help me to be a much better person.

No matter how bad … things do get alright.  No matter how bad … I choose to learn something good from it.

Since I’m not perfect … I still cry sometimes.  Only because it hurts … I still know everything is going to be alright again.

 

2 thoughts on “It Must Be Another One of Life’s Lessons

  1. I feel so angry and frustrated that I’m not able to help hun! 😦

    I pray the insurers get their act together soon – this is SO WRONG!!! 😦

    Love and huge hugs my friend!!! 😦

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

