His Memory … Their Joy


His Memory … Their Joy

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

I would like to fly with the dragonflies

Fly in the breeze with fragile wings

Land gently on a pretty flower

I would love to be a beautiful, green dragonfly

With amethyst eyes … golden wings

So delicate … precious … special

I would be a living memory that I once had a son

Who loved, was fascinated by dragonflies

I know I can’t be a real dragonfly

So, I remember my son in the ways I know how

By writing, and … making golden dragonflies

With delicate gold wire, beads of color

I leave them for people to find

A little treasure in the form of the dragonfly

Praying that whose life it touches … brings a smile

A smile of joy, happiness in their hearts

They get to keep something special

At the same time, remember Tommy

Doesn’t matter if they knew Tommy or not

Just as it doesn’t matter if they know I am the one

Who made the dragonfly they found to keep

What matters is someone finds a treasure to keep

Remembers why it was created

In the first place … his memory … and their joy

Note by this Author:

I make dragonflies of gold wire, and colored beads in memory of my son, Tommy.  I leave them ‘anywhere’ for someone to find.

When they pick it up to keep … they read the attached note.  Remember Tommy … my precious son.

They will read that I hope the dragonfly brings joy to their hearts, a smile to their face … and that I wish special things to happen in their life.  It is theirs to keep.

Photos/poem are owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

2 thoughts on “His Memory … Their Joy

Leave a Reply

