I Grabbed That Snake By Its Head …


I Grabbed That Snake By Its Head …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

 

 

 

 

I love snakes.  They fascinate me.  Their colors are beautiful.  They amaze me!  I become mesmerized when watching snakes.  Why?  I have no idea.

As a young girl, I would run to pick up a snake when I saw one.  I just wanted to hold, look at them.  I always had respect for snakes.  I never wanted to hurt one.

Once I almost picked up a beautiful copperhead snake.  Someone knocked me to the side when they saw what I was about to do.  I became upset until they told me why they did that.  The snake has such beautiful markings on its skin.

One day, I saw a very long, black … shiny snake.  I ran, grabbed it by the head.  I picked it up and was admiring it.  Before I knew what happened … the snake turned its head somehow … bit me, leaving one of its fangs in my finger!

I went into shock … knowing I’d been bitten.  I was numb … I couldn’t believe it.  I dropped it like a hot cake.

I went to sit down.  I was into such a shock of ‘having finally been bitten’.  I didn’t think the snake was poisonous.  Later I found out it wasn’t.  It was just the pain in my finger, and the shock of being bitten that numbed me.  Not only that … seeing the fang in my finger!  I pulled it out.

That ended my ‘career’ of picking up snakes.  I never had the nerve to do it again.  I learned that lesson quickly!  I still love to watch snakes … I don’t ever have the desire to grab a snake by its head … ever again.

 

 

Note by Author:

Photo/true story owned … written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

Didn’t matter if the snake was poisonous or not … just the idea of being ‘bitten by a snake’ … put me into a state of shock.

One thought on “I Grabbed That Snake By Its Head …

  1. Snakes are often beautiful, but deadly!!! 😦

    I handled a boa constrictor a few years back – beautiful and for sale, but they eat live prey, so that put me off!!! 🙂

    Thank God it wasn’t a cottonmouth that bit you – we wouldn’t be having this conversation!!! 🙂

    Love and huge squishy hugs to you, Skip and the pups!!! 🙂

    Ian(Prenin)

Leave a Reply

