That’s the Magic of Coffee


That’s the Magic of Coffee

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

I sit here with a hot cup of coffee

Cradling, holding the cup like a child

Holding onto it … to give me comfort

When something bad happens in life

Coffee becomes liquid gold

Warmth, soothing comfort

Comfort that’s next to a mother’s touch

Telling one everything’s going to be alright

Close your eyes, dear … everything’s going to be alright

Firefighters fight fire, rescue workers rescue

People suffer bad things … we all need to be comforted

We all want to hold a hot cup of coffee to warm our hands

Warm our hearts down to our souls

Shield us from pain, grief … the bad in our life

Cradle the hot cup of coffee as tight as we can

Hold onto comfort as long as we possibly can

Close your eyes … imagine your mother’s hug

If not your mother … someone you love with your heart

Imagine you are being held safe against the bad

Until you can gain strength to go it again

No matter how bad … everything will somehow get alright

Touch your cheeks with the warm cup of coffee

Feel the pure comfort … like a loved one’s kiss

Close your eyes, smile through tears … it’s going to be alright

For the moment you are in … a hot cup of coffee

Brings life-giving comfort … warmth when you need it most

That’s the magic in … a cup of hot coffee

 

Note by this Author:

I don’t know about you … but in my life, so many ‘bad’ things have happened.  I am so thankful for a warm liquid to drink, let the warmth spread comfort as it goes down.

I am so thankful to get to hold the warmth in my hands … cradling the cup like a little child.  Maybe … for the moment I am a little child again seeking comfort from someone who loved me … I don’t know.  But this I do know … that’s the magic in a cup of hot coffee.

Photos/poem owned … written by me.  Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee   (Note: My Precious Husband, Skip … drinking coffee at Krispy Kreme … he and our Pups are my whole world.)

 

 

2 thoughts on “That’s the Magic of Coffee

Leave a Reply

