I’m Not Taking Any Chances …


 

 

 

I’m Not Taking Any Chances …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

Coming back from the hospital … a small, dark animal ran across the road in front of me.  Black cat, I thought.  My mind went instantly to the black cat that ran across the road when we went to Virginia to see Skip’s mother.

 

 

I thought how I had locked the keys in the vehicle … in my mind I could see Skip and I standing there in the cold, pouring rain.  That same morning I was walking to the pickup … the gate key fell from my hand in the dark.  I was sort of … slinging my hand as I walked.  I couldn’t find the key … in the pouring rain.

 

 

That night I thought about that black cat and how I try never to be superstitious.  I didn’t make an ‘X’ on the windshield.  Look what happened … pouring rain … locking keys inside vehicle, losing key.

 

 

Well, this evening … I didn’t take any chances … I made an ‘X’ on the windshield!  I made it home safely … all should be well this time.

 

 

I think just to be safe … I will mark an ‘X’ when I see a black cat cross the road in front of me … I’m not superstitious … I’m just not taking any chances.

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

Nope, not taking any chances … so much has happened lately in my life.  Just to be safe … I will mark an ‘X’ whenever a black cat crosses in front of me 🙂  I’m really not superstitious … only cautious!

 

True story/photo written, owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

4 thoughts on “I’m Not Taking Any Chances …

  1. Beware of a black cat carrying a ladder and a mirror! 🙂

    I was given a lucky rabbit’s foot and a warning: Beware of a pissed off, three legged rabbit!!! 😉 ❤

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Prenin, you made me laugh. That’s so funny. You know … no matter how I’ve fought since a child not to be superstitious … times like when seeing the black cat tests me. If I don’t make an ‘x’ on the windshield it really does seem something happens … if I do … nothing does 🙂 🙂 🙂 Love, Gloria

Leave a Reply

