Death is Walking Near …


 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

 

 

Eyes closed, head pressed against my hands

 

Cold fingers caress my forehead

 

Emotion wells up inside my Heart

 

I hear the cold wind blowing, wind chimes ringing

 

I feel afraid … why?  I feel so small in this big world

 

Tears flow down my cheeks … clouds squeezing out raindrops

 

Why am I crying … why am I afraid … sad?

 

Death is walking near … I feel him ever so often

 

I pray with my Heart for him to go away

 

Please don’t touch my world anymore

 

You’ve taken everyone who meant the world to me

 

Please go away … I need what I have left

 

So, I can live, not be alone in this big, cold world

 

Sitting here, I wring my hands … I hear my dog howl

 

From the bedroom down the hall … did he sense something

 

Did he feel Death was walking close to us?

 

I pray my Lord to keep us safe, sound

 

Please don’t let Death enter my world … they’re all I have

 

I have my husband, our two Pups

 

I sit here with my head in my hands

 

I’m crying deep down in my soul … am I grieving

 

For my son … or am I just sad … why am I crying

 

Crying as my thoughts go through the walls to outside

 

To ride on the wind as they blow the wind chimes

 

They ring as I look about me … in the night

 

In the night light … trees sway … it’s so cold

 

Is Death coming for me … is that why I’m afraid

 

Why I’m sad … why I cry … do I sense something

 

Did my dog?  I don’t want to die either

 

I haven’t finished my living yet … I need more time

 

I find myself holding my hands to my Heart

 

My chin resting upon them … my eyes closed

 

I have a sick sensation in the pit of my stomach

 

Why?  I know everything will be all right

 

So … why am I crying … why am I sad, feel so down?

 

I become aware of the chimes ringing louder

 

The wind is blowing harder

 

I get up to go look out my window

 

I relax as I stand looking out … snowflakes!

 

The wind is blowing snowflakes from Heaven!

 

A smile comes to my lips … inside my Heart

 

I feel Life soar inside me … as Death goes away

 

Leaving me, my world alone for another time

 

I thank God from my Heart … for now, I’m not alone

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

I woke up at 2:00 am this morning, couldn’t go back to sleep.  Thoughts of things that slightly upset me were on my mind.  I can’t seem to shake them … make them go away.

 

I couldn’t lay in bed with such turmoil going on inside me … it was like a boat trying to float under water.  I just couldn’t do it.  I know you’ve had those times when you couldn’t just lay in a bed with so much going on in your mind.

 

I got up, came to my computer, began to write to make my sadness, yes … even some anger, fears go away.  I’ve written many words this morning to put distance between me … what makes me upset, afraid.

 

I still have a sick sensation in the pit of my stomach … I must have more words to write to make it go away.

 

Thoughts, photo written, owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.+

3 thoughts on “Death is Walking Near …

Leave a Reply

