I’m Afraid My Dragonfly Will Fade Away …


Sitting here all alone … no one’s up but, me
I hear the cold wind blow … wind chimes ring

Snowflakes flying around … kissing the earth
While I sit here … feeling happy, sad

 

I have everything to be thankful … grateful for
So … why do I feel sad … about some little thing

 

Some little thing that was a big thing to me
In memory of someone that was my world

 

I wonder if I am a small … petty person
Just don’t know it … thinking I’m good

 

Am I just an ugly person … for wishing
Things to be right … upset easily, if not

 

Thinking about this … I’m sitting here all alone
Listening to the cold wind blow … feeling sad

 

Wind chimes rings … thoughts flow in my mind
They are on one little dragonfly that means the world

 

Every day I look at this little dragonfly
My hand touches it gently … like a mother touches a child

 

Saying ‘I love you, Son’ … this is in memory of you
I’m afraid my dragonfly … will fade away

 

 

Author’s Note:

Written, owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

2 thoughts on “I’m Afraid My Dragonfly Will Fade Away …

Leave a Reply

