Her One Good Hand …


 

 

Her One Good Hand …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter …

 

 

I left my husband at the desk where he was talking to the gray-haired lady sitting there.  She had on gold-rimmed glasses and had the sweetest of smiles.

 

I walked through the waiting area to go to the restroom.  I looked up on the wall at the tv … the color on it was brilliant.  Rachael Rae was cooking, naming each ingredient she was using.  I thought to myself … Rachael Rae has gained a little weight … just like me.

 

I got almost to the bathroom … gracious, I had to go!  I had drank water … I couldn’t have anything else before going to do my lab work.  Now … I wanted to go to the restroom … and of course when one has to go … there’s always going to be some obstacle in one’s path!

 

This wasn’t any different … I groaned inwardly when I saw an older man push his wife in her wheelchair … through the bathroom door.  The door closed behind them … I stood there … going from one foot to the other.  Damn!

 

Suppose I opened that door … stepped inside one of the stalls … I discarded that idea right away.  No way could I do that.

 

I waited for about five minutes … the door opened, the older man came out, smiling at me as he walked across the hall to the men’s restroom.

 

I hurried inside the women’s restroom … noticing in the big mirror … as I opened the door to a stall … that the woman was sitting on the toliet in the big stall for handicap people … with the door open, her wheelchair sitting empty.  I knew I’d be listening for her … and ready to help her if I could.  She reminded me of someone …

 

Be damned!  Someone had left a turd in the commode as long as a ruler!  It floated in the water with tissue paper like there was a party going on!  I gagged … quickly stepped out of that stall.  The next stall was spotless … I quickly took advantage of it.

 

I heard the commode flush in the big stall.  I worried for the older lady!  I finished up quickly … washed my hands … looking in the mirror where I had a full view of her.  I didn’t want her to fall.

 

I dried my hands … turned to talk to her … asking her if she needed help.  Being me, I didn’t wait for her to say she needed help … I was sure ‘like me’ … she’d say she was fine, didn’t need help … while wishing for it.  I ‘knew’ she needed help … and that her husband wouldn’t just walk back inside knowing I was in there.

 

I saw that she also, had a cane with four legs sitting beside her wheelchair.  I rolled her wheelchair up to her … she just naturally turned around and began letting me help her.  It was like I’d been doing it all the time.  She never felt awkward with me … and I felt wonderful inside because she didn’t mind!  I was honored to help her.  She trusted me when she sat down … knowing I would have the wheelchair there for her.

 

I rolled her to the sink so, she could wash her hands.  I noticed she had a brace on left hand, and it hung to the side.  She reminded me of someone …

 

I watched as she took her right hand, turned the faucet on … put her hand under the soap dispenser … it automatically deposited pink liquid soap onto her palm.  She put her hand under the warm water …. began moving her fingers … then, rinsed her hand off.

 

She was talking the whole time about having a stroke in April of last year, how it had changed her body.  She was sad that she wasn’t the same as she … used to be.  She said, “Thank God, I can still walk”.  She could walk, but she had to struggle … she was so thankful she could do that.

 

I could understand … the things I’ve been through in life … I was so thankful even if things weren’t the best … I was grateful for what I had … at least ‘I had that’.  When I survived cancer … the chemotherapy drug (adriamycin) damaged my heart … didn’t matter, it saved my life … and it was my trade-off to live.  I was so thankful.

 

So, when she said she was thankful ‘for at least that, the ability to walk not the best … but, at least … walk’ … I truly understood what she meant.

 

She turned the faucet off with her good hand … I had already pulled several paper towels out of the towel dispenser to dry her hand.  I put my hand out to take her hand … I gently dried each finger so no water was left on her hand.  I felt emotion inside … I felt love for her, I cared so much.  I felt the need to … protect her.

 

She never minded me helping her … her husband had come back inside the restroom … he had knocked on the door, and I told him to come in.  He stood to the side, watching … smiling.  He seemed happy watching us.

 

I held her good hand in mine, told her goodbye.  I patted it as I spoke.  I walked to the door … opened it, held it so her husband could push her outside the rest room.

 

I stood there for a moment watching them go out into waiting area.  I choked up … I realized who she reminded me of … she reminded me of Grandma Alma … when she held out her good hand to me. I had the strange sensation of being the little girl I was when I lived with her.

 

My Grandma Alma only had … one good hand.  The lady had one good hand … I held it in my hands with pure love.

 

***     My Grandma Alma is gone … today I felt I got to see her … hold her one good hand.  Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee   ***

 

a2b3b-photos2bof2bskip2b262bi2bthru2btime2b010

Grandma Alma and George … I loved them with my very Heart.

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

As you all know … my Grandma Alma had a stroke many years ago, lived for twenty-some years … paralyzed.  She only had one ‘good’ hand … one ‘good’ leg.  Whenever she walked with her walker … George was always by her side.  George was blind.  George was the only grandfather I ever knew.

 

Grandma Alma would drag her ‘bad’ leg as she walked … her ‘bad’ hand hung by her side. George was blind, Grandma Alma was paralyzed on one side.

 

I lived with them as a child … they lived in pure Hell … all the children who lived with them was loved by them … but, they couldn’t stop the Hell from burning them … scarring them for life.

 

I thought of my beautiful Grandma Alma today … when I held that woman’s … good hand.  I hope she will never forget me … because I helped her with … pure love … just as I would with my Grandma Alma.

 

Photo, true story owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

2 thoughts on “Her One Good Hand …

Leave a Reply

