Congestive Heart Failure … Heart Catheterization … Stent … Groin Bleed


Once again … I almost lost my whole world. I’m so thankful I didn’t. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

Before daylight, yesterday morning before daylight (March 14, 2016) … I had to get Skip to the Emergency Room.  I drove almost 40 miles to get there.  Our local hospital only 4 miles from where we live … is closed.

Skip went into congestive heart failure.  They got almost 4 liters of fluid.  He was literally ‘drowning’ in his own fluids.  He had difficulty breathing.  It was a good thing I got him to the hospital.

Today, Skip had a heart catheterization … unexpectedly, they put a stent in his heart.  Not only that … when he was brought back to his room … a special nurse came in to pull the shaft out of the ‘hole’ where they did the procedure.

He had a groin bleed!

Below is what I wrote on my Facebook page when I updated everyone, thanked them for all the special prayers sent our way.  I copied, pasted it instead of trying to write it all again.  Below is all about what happened today:

 

March 15, 2016 … Tuesday:

Today when Skip had his heart catheterization … they had to put a stent in.

When they brought him back to the room, they waited a while and called a special nurse to come ‘pull the shaft’ out of the hole made for the heart catheterization.

Skip had a groin bleed. His skin began swelling … blood underneath the skin. This normally doesn’t happen. It was awful … three nurses began putting pressure on his groin … the pain was unbearable. Skip was almost screaming, his mouth turned white. His nurse gave him morphine to help the pain … he still felt the pain.

The nurses kept the pressure on his groin, pressing very hard with their hands … for 20 minutes. Then … they put a device on his groin to keep pressure on the hole. After an hour, they released the device … but, it’s still in place … ‘just in case’, and they wouldn’t have to scramble putting it on him.

He has a good nurse who has been in his room all day … she only went out for minutes at a time. She monitored him all day, and was still there when I left this evening.

Skip can’t get up or move until 7:00 pm tonight. He has been through so much pain, and it was so scary when all that was going on. I stayed by his side touching him, speaking softly to him … he was in agony for so long. His blood pressure kept going so high, then it would drop. What a roller coaster.

If the bleeding didn’t stop … a person can ‘bleed out‘ in 7 minutes. This is one of those things ‘that can go wrong’.

I was so glad when Skip got better. I stayed calm the whole time, but in my mind … it was another story. I was so afraid. Gracious! I want to cry now, thinking about it.
smile emoticon

I know all the prayers that all of you sent … made all the difference. Thank you from my Heart. It means the world to me.

It is possible … Skip can come home tomorrow. I just hope he has a good night. I looked at the clock, he’ll be able to sit up in 30 minutes smile emoticon Goodnight, everyone heart emoticon I send love to all of you, and I’m grateful for all of your caring.

Someone bought gas for me today, it meant the world to me. I don’t know if they’ll see this here … I was on empty not knowing what to do. I can’t tell you how much it meant. I didn’t have to ask, they just did it. Thank you from my very Heart heart emoticon

2 thoughts on “Congestive Heart Failure … Heart Catheterization … Stent … Groin Bleed

Leave a Reply

