Deep Breaths and a Shower


 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

My Precious Husband, Skip.  Fell asleep after medication for pain … he was in a lot of pain.

 

I woke up this morning … I’m ready to take Life on again. The sun is shining, what a beautiful day! Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.



I get out of my car

Unlock the gate, enter

Open the door, enter

Take deep breaths

Goodbye world for another day

I can’t take anymore of you

Take my clothes off as I head

To the shower, turn the hot water on

Get under the warm spray

Let my mind go … imagine

Wonderful, good things to come

My life has been Hell once again

I’ve almost lost my husband

For the second time in two months

I can’t take anymore

I feel afraid … I’ve cried all this day

My whole world is being threatened

Life has taken my family, including

My only one and only child

I have no one left excepting my husband

Our two precious dogs

They are my whole world

If you take my husband away, Life

The Pups and I will be all alone

I have been so afraid these past days

Death, you stay away now

Leave my whole world alone

They are all I have between this big, old world

And being completely alone

Only three, my husband and Pups

Between the world and I

When most people have many more

Life took from me all my loved ones

I don’t even ask why

You ask me why don’t I

Because I am realistic …

I know I’ll never get an answer

I won’t even waste my time

I put on my nightgown, brush my hair

Brush my teeth … go to the bedroom

Turn my covers back, fluff my pillows

I lay me down to sleep

The night away … wake up

To face another day

Life … sun shining … what a beautiful day!

Note by this Author:

Photo/poem owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

3 thoughts on “Deep Breaths and a Shower

Leave a Reply

