Remembering Tommy …


Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

 

 

Remembering my son, Tommy … when I was a mother. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

My thoughts drifted off into the past today

To a time when a little baby was born

A little blonde-headed boy with big, blue eyes

Crying to be held, rocked to sleep

A little boy who ran, played, rode his bicycle

Eyes filled with wonder as he learned his world

One day he grew up … I couldn’t any longer protect him

I wanted to …. I was gently reminded that he was no longer a little boy

One day the phone call came that no parent wants 

Ma’am, I have a man collapsed here on the sand, he isn’t breathing

That was the day I lost my son … my only child

Six years later, I still grieve quietly … but, in a positive way

I haven’t forgotten what it feels like to be a mother

I’ll be alright this Mother’s Day

I just wanted to remember my child, I loved him with my Heart

I also, wanted to wish all mothers in the world … Happy Mother’s Day

 

 

Note by this Author:  Tommy, my son died May 29, 2010 on a Saturday evening at Myrtle Beach.  He was playing with his 3 year old son on the beach.  

2 thoughts on “Remembering Tommy …

Leave a Reply

