Reflection In the Big Glass Window …


Reflection In the Big Glass Window …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/aka GeeGranny on Twitter

 

My mother, Daisy Earlene Strother, as a young woman.  So beautiful, vibrant …

 

 

Sometimes it’s best not to look back for the pain. By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

 

As I was walking from the pickup to the store … I saw something moving … I looked up to see the big glass window on the front of the store.  Mama!

In the glass for a moment I saw my mother … then, I saw myself.  I had to lower my eyes to the pavement … I couldn’t bear to look any more.  My mother …

I walked into the store without looking back at the glass front.  My thoughts were on my mother who died September 09, 2001 … we picked her ashes up at the funeral home on 9-11.  There are things I can’t bear to think about that happened before, and around my mother’s death.  I don’t like to think of my mother.  Hurts too bad.

I began thinking of all the years the store has been there.  I thought of how my mother went to that store many, many times through her life … how many times her reflection showed up in the big glass window on the front.  I had never had this thought before … until I saw her reflection for a moment in the window.  For a moment … I reflected her in that big glass window.

 

Note by this Author:

I miss my mother very much.  I try never to think of her … the pain is great.  All that surrounded her death that I learned through time by seeing, being told … break my Heart.  All my family have died … and many of them died before their time.  Life can be very sad … painful.  Sometimes it’s best to … not think about the past.

Photos/true story are owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

3 thoughts on “Reflection In the Big Glass Window …

Leave a Reply

