I Was on the Other Side


I smiled as I waved to him

He looked straight at me

I smiled brighter knowing he’d see me

My smile began to fade as I realized

He couldn’t see me no matter how I waved

Because I was on the other side

The other side of a tinted glass

In the vehicle I sat in

That’s when I knew in my Heart

That our loved ones who have died

Must do … try to smile, wave

Comfort, hug us but we don’t see, feel

Why?  Because they are on the other side

Only once in a while will the veil slip

One will be able to see, hear their loved ones

Just like that tinted glass I sat behind

If I had just simply rolled the window down

My friend would have seen me smiling, waving

When I look around I try hard to see

If possible to see a place where the ‘glass isn’t tinted’

Maybe see Tommy … my mother, brother … loved ones

So far no luck … I won’t give up

Because just maybe … maybe

One day I might see to the … other side

 

 

I wonder if the Other Side is like sitting behind tinted glass … no matter how much you wave to someone … they can’t see you. By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

 

Note by this Author:

Yesterday this really happened … our friend never saw me smiling, waving to him through the tinted glass.  This incident gave me much to think about … I wondered if Tommy ever stood, smiled, reached out to hug me … and I never saw him … on the other side?

True poem/photos written, owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

Leave a Reply

