I’ve Been a River … I’ve Been a Waterfall


 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Photo owned/taken by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

 

 

Drops of water splashing on a rock

I watch the drop break apart

Into a million more drops of water

Millions of drops … water

Sparkling like diamonds in the sunlight

Splash here … splash there

I’ve watched my own teardrops fall

Fall while in amazement

At how many I could cry

Like a waterfall that never stops

My eyes cried teardrops for my child

Making pools … here … there

When I lay my head on my pillow

My tear drops flow like a river

From my eyes

Standing up I became a waterfall

Tears falling on my hands

I stared in amazement as each fell

Diamond teardrops perfectly shaped

Ready to put in a gold ring

If they were solid

Sometimes I become a flood

Drowning in tear drops

I have nowhere to run

Amazed at the drops of water

Splashing from my eyes

Onto the rocks beneath my feet

I’ve been a river … I’ve been a waterfall

A flood all at the same time

Today … I am a quiet, deep pool of calm water

 

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

Like a quiet, deep pool of calm water … my grief lies below the surface like the fish that swim around.  Sometimes … my grief surfaces just as a fish does when someone throws bread to them.

I know grief is a forever feeling in my Heart … it’s love for my son … sad I’ll never see him again.  Pain for what was … pain for what isn’t now.  It really does hurt so bad … though I’m so very strong … I’ve accepted it.

No matter what … no matter how bad … everything is going to be alright.

Photo/poem owned/written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee in memory of my son, Tommy.  I miss you with my very Heart, Son.

 

 

No matter what … no matter how bad … everything is going to be alright. By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

One thought on “I’ve Been a River … I’ve Been a Waterfall

Leave a Reply

